No charge if no records foundOfficial manufacturer dealership recordsResults in minutes
Kia logo

Kia Service History

Workshop Remarks

Kia is a Korean manufacturer with a strong UK presence. The Sportage, Niro, Ceed, and EV6 are popular models. Kia's 7-year warranty programme means many vehicles have comprehensive dealer records.

Official recordsInstant resultsNo charge if not found

Coverage last reviewed: June 2026

Coverage Level

Workshop Remarks

Workshop remarks including recalls and warranty work. Where workshop remarks align with service schedules, this strongly indicates a service was carried out.

If no records are found, your card is not charged — the authorisation is cancelled, no payment is taken.

Service Intervals

Kia's interval depends on the engine and the year, not just the fuel. Turbocharged petrols, hybrids and the small Picanto and Rio petrols run 12 months or 10,000 miles, while larger naturally-aspirated petrols such as the 1.6 GDi, and most 2010-2021 diesels, run 12 months or 20,000 miles. Servicing on time at an authorised dealer protects the 7-year warranty.

Intervals vary by engine, model year and schedule type — check the car's own handbook or service plan for the figure that applies to it.

What's Included

  • ✓Service dates & mileage
  • ✓Work performed at each visit
  • ✓Official dealership records
  • ✓Full MOT history
  • ✓Digital report with PDF export

Kia service intervals by engine

Kia sets its schedule per engine, not per badge, so the figures below are broken out by engine family — 17 of them — with the timing drive, oil, brake fluid and the rest of the items each one schedules. Some are group engines sold under more than one marque, and those say so. Where a line says manufacturer-published, it links to the document it came from.

1.0 MPi (Kappa / Smartstream G1.0)

1.0-litre · petrol · 2011–2026

Fitted to: Picanto, Rio, Stonic

Chain

Timing chain

No scheduled replacement

Reported · desk researchSource

Chain, no scheduled replacement. The AUTODOC engine-code page for the Picanto 1.0 is headed 'Timing chain (67 hp Petrol G3LD)' and lists G3LA. No timing-belt item appears anywhere in the Picanto petrol Europe schedule.

Engine oil & filter
Every 12 months or 10,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Brake fluid
Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Gearbox oil
Manual gearboxNo scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
AMT (automated manual)Every 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Coolant / antifreeze
First at 10 years / 140,000 miles, then every 2 years / 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Spark plugs
Every 100,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Diesel fuel filter
No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
Pollen / cabin filter
Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource

1.0 T-GDi (Kappa / Smartstream G1.0 T-GDi)

1.0-litre · petrol · 2015–2026

Fitted to: Picanto, Rio, Stonic, Ceed, ProCeed, XCeed

Chain

Timing chain

No scheduled replacement

Reported · desk researchSource

Chain, no scheduled replacement. The AUTODOC engine-code page for the Picanto 1.0 T-GDi is headed 'Timing chain (100 hp Petrol G3LE)' and lists G3LC. Kia's Europe schedules list a 'Timing belt' item only under Diesel, so there is no petrol timing-belt row to have an interval.

Engine oil & filter
Every 12 months or 10,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Brake fluid
Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Gearbox oil
Manual gearboxNo scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
7-speed DCT (dual-clutch)No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
AMT (automated manual, Picanto)Every 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Coolant / antifreeze
First at 10 years / 120,000 miles, then every 2 years / 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Spark plugs
Every 50,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Diesel fuel filter
No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
Pollen / cabin filter
Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource

1.25 MPi (Kappa / Smartstream G1.2)

1.2-litre · petrol · 2011–2023

Fitted to: Picanto, Rio, Stonic, Venga

Chain

Timing chain

No scheduled replacement

Reported · desk researchSource

Chain, no scheduled replacement. AUTODOC engine-code page headed 'Timing chain (84 hp Petrol G4LA)'.

Engine oil & filter
Every 12 months or 10,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Brake fluid
Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Gearbox oil
Manual gearboxNo scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
AMT (automated manual)Every 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Coolant / antifreeze
First at 10 years / 140,000 miles, then every 2 years / 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Spark plugs
Every 100,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Diesel fuel filter
No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
Pollen / cabin filter
Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource

1.4 MPi / CVVT (Gamma)

1.4-litre · petrol · 2007–2018

Fitted to: Ceed, ProCeed, Venga, Rio, Soul, Cerato

Chain

Timing chain

No scheduled replacement

Reported · desk researchSource

Chain, no scheduled replacement. AUTODOC engine-code page headed 'Timing chain (90 hp Petrol G4FA)' with BGA, Blue Print, febi bilstein, INA, SKF and SWAG chains listed.

Engine oil & filter
Ceed family, 2007-2009 model yearsEvery 12 months or 10,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Ceed family, 2010-2012 model yearsEvery 12 months or 12,500 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Ceed family, 2013-2018 model years (petrol, non-turbo)Every 12 months or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource

1.4 T-GDi (Kappa)

1.4-litre · petrol · 2018–2022

Fitted to: Ceed, ProCeed, XCeed, Stonic

Chain

Timing chain

No scheduled replacement

Reported · desk researchSource

Chain, no scheduled replacement. AUTODOC engine-code page headed 'Timing chain (140 hp Petrol G4LD)'.

Engine oil & filter
Every 12 months or 10,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Brake fluid
Every 2 years or 20,000 milesReported · desk researchSource
Gearbox oil
7-speed DCT (dual-clutch)No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
Coolant / antifreeze
First at 10 years / 120,000 miles, then every 2 years / 20,000 milesReported · desk researchSource
Diesel fuel filter
No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
Pollen / cabin filter
Every 2 years or 20,000 milesReported · desk researchSource

1.5 T-GDi (Smartstream G1.5 T-GDi)

1.5-litre · petrol · 2020–2026

Fitted to: Ceed, ProCeed, XCeed, Sportage

Chain

Timing chain

No scheduled replacement

Reported · desk researchSource

Chain, no scheduled replacement. AUTODOC engine-code page headed 'Timing chain (160 hp Petrol G4LH)'. Do NOT confuse this with the separate 'MHSG (Mild Hybrid Starter & Generator) belt' row on 48-volt cars, which is an accessory belt and DOES carry a scheduled replacement: inspect every 15,000 km (10,000 miles) or 12 months, replace every 105,000 km (70,000 miles) or 48 months.

Engine oil & filter
Every 12 months or 10,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Brake fluid
Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Gearbox oil
Manual gearboxNo scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
7-speed DCT (dual-clutch)No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
iMT clutch actuator fluid (48V mild-hybrid manual)Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Coolant / antifreeze
First at 10 years / 120,000 miles, then every 2 years / 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Spark plugs
Every 50,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Diesel fuel filter
No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
Pollen / cabin filter
Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource

1.6 CRDi (Smartstream D1.6)

1.6-litre · diesel · 2018–2024

Fitted to: Ceed, ProCeed, XCeed, Sportage, Stonic, Optima

Belt

Timing belt (cambelt)

Replace every 160,000 miles — no time limit published

Manufacturer-publishedSource

Two separate rows in the Ceed Europe DIESEL table: 'Timing belt — Inspect every 120,000 km (80,000 miles)' and 'Timing belt system (Timing belt, Oil belt, Water pump, Tensioner, Idler) — Replace every 240,000 km (160,000 miles)'. Note the system explicitly includes an 'Oil belt' — this engine drives its oil pump by a separate belt running in oil, i.e. a wet belt in addition to the dry timing belt. The MY2021 edition names the same set without the water pump. Interference status is not stated by Kia. Belt drive independently confirmed by the AUTODOC page 'Timing belt (136 hp Diesel/Electro D4FE)'.

Engine oil & filter
Every 12 months or 10,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Brake fluid
Every 4 years or 26,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Gearbox oil
7-speed DCT (dual-clutch)No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
iMT clutch actuator fluid (48V mild-hybrid manual)Every 2 years or 26,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Coolant / antifreeze
First at 10 years / 130,000 miles, then every 2 years / 26,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Diesel fuel filter
Every 39,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Pollen / cabin filter
Every 2 years or 13,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource

1.6 CRDi (U-II)

1.6-litre · diesel · 2008–2018

Fitted to: Ceed, ProCeed, Sportage, Venga, Soul, Carens

Chain

Timing chain

No scheduled replacement

Reported · desk researchSource

CHAIN — and this is the one that catches people out, because its own replacement, the 1598 cc Smartstream D1.6, went back to a BELT. The AUTODOC engine-code page is headed 'Timing chain kit (136 hp Diesel D4FB)' and lists chain kits from febi bilstein, INA and Blue Print. A UK retailer catalogue lists D4FB under a timing-belt kit; the engine-code-scoped catalogue contradicts it and is preferred.

Engine oil & filter
Every 12 months or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource

1.6 GDi (Gamma II)

1.6-litre · petrol · 2011–2021

Fitted to: Ceed, ProCeed, Sportage, Soul, Rio, Venga

Chain

Timing chain

No scheduled replacement

Reported · desk researchSource

Chain, no scheduled replacement. The AUTODOC engine-code page for the Ceed JD 1.6 GDi is scoped to G4FD and lists timing chains; no timing belt is catalogued against it.

Engine oil & filter
Every 12 months or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource

1.6 GDi hybrid / plug-in hybrid (Kappa 1.6 GDi HEV)

1.6-litre · petrol · hybrid · 2016–2026

Fitted to: Niro HEV, Niro PHEV, XCeed PHEV, Ceed Sportswagon PHEV

Chain

Timing chain

No scheduled replacement

Reported · desk researchSource

Chain, no scheduled replacement. AUTODOC engine-code page headed 'Timing chain kit (141 hp Petrol/Electric G4LE)'. Do NOT confuse this with the 'HSG (Hybrid Starter & Generator) belt', which is an accessory belt and DOES carry a scheduled replacement: inspect every 15,000 km (10,000 miles) or 12 months, replace every 105,000 km (70,000 miles) or 48 months.

Engine oil & filter
Every 12 months or 10,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Brake fluid
Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Gearbox oil
6-speed DCT (dual-clutch)No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
Engine clutch actuator fluidEvery 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Coolant / antifreeze
First at 10 years / 120,000 miles, then every 2 years / 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Spark plugs
Every 100,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Diesel fuel filter
No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
Pollen / cabin filter
Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Hybrid health check
Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource

1.6 T-GDi (Gamma II)

1.6-litre · petrol · 2013–2022

Fitted to: Ceed GT, ProCeed GT, Sportage (QL), Soul, Optima

Chain

Timing chain

No scheduled replacement

Reported · desk researchSource

Chain, no scheduled replacement. AUTODOC engine-code page headed 'Timing chain (204 hp Petrol G4FJ)' with BGA, Blue Print, febi bilstein, Gates, INA and SWAG chains listed.

Engine oil & filter
Every 12 months or 10,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Brake fluid
Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Gearbox oil
7-speed DCT (dual-clutch)No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
Coolant / antifreeze
First at 10 years / 120,000 miles, then every 2 years / 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Spark plugs
Every 50,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Diesel fuel filter
No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
Pollen / cabin filter
Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource

1.6 T-GDi (Smartstream G1.6 T-GDi)

1.6-litre · petrol · 2021–2026

Fitted to: Sportage (NQ5), Sorento, Ceed

Chain

Timing chain

No scheduled replacement

Reported · desk researchSource

Chain, no scheduled replacement. AUTODOC engine-code page headed 'Timing chain kit (150 hp Petrol G4FP)' with Blue Print, febi bilstein and SWAG kits. The Sportage manual's two 'Timing belt' rows are both scoped to Diesel.

Engine oil & filter
Every 12 months or 10,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Brake fluid
Every 2 years or 20,000 milesReported · desk researchSource
Gearbox oil
Manual gearboxEvery 40,000 milesReported · desk researchSource
8-speed torque-converter automaticNo scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
7-speed DCT (dual-clutch)Every 4 years or 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Coolant / antifreeze
First at 10 years / 140,000 miles, then every 2 years / 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Spark plugs
Every 45,500 milesReported · desk researchSource
Diesel fuel filter
Every 40,000 milesReported · desk researchSource
Pollen / cabin filter
Every 2 years or 20,000 milesReported · desk researchSource

1.7 CRDi (U-II, D4FD) — Sportage, Carens, Optima — timing chain

1.7-litre · diesel · 2010–2022

Fitted to: Sportage III (SL) 1.7 CRDi (2010-2015), Sportage IV (QL) 1.7 CRDi (2015-), Carens IV 1.7 CRDi (2013-), Optima 1.7 CRDi (2012-)

Chain

Timing chain

No scheduled replacement

Reported · desk researchSource

Chain, both tests passed. OPPOSITE-KIT: Sportage IV 1.7 CRDi — 75 chain-kit articles, no banner (A2-S37); timing belt 'not available', 1685 CCM (A2-S38). Sportage III 1.7 CRDi — 116 chain-kit articles (A2-S39). CAMSHAFT: Gates, a belt maker, lists CHK1035M for this engine with 'Driven Units: Camshaft, Injection pump' and contents 'Gear/Sprocket, camshaft' x2 plus 'Gear, injection pump' (A2-S39). Two chains, 76 and 84 links, upper and lower (A2-S37) — both chains, no `secondary` belt. Same physical engine as hyundai.json's '1.7 CRDi (U-II, 1.7 VGT)' entry (Apex lists one D4FD kit for Kia Carens/Optima/Sportage and Hyundai i40/ix35/Tucson, 1,685 cc, A2-S40), and this agrees with that entry's chain verdict. Deliberately badged Kia only: hyundai.json already covers the Hyundai D4FD, and a second Hyundai row would make ix35/Tucson lookups show two identical candidates. No replacement interval found. `years` end is AUTODOC's catalogue range for the Sportage IV, not a sourced UK end date.

2.0 CRDi (R-family, D4HA)

2.0-litre · diesel · 2009–2022

Fitted to: Sportage, Sorento, Carens, Optima

Chain

Timing chain

No scheduled replacement

Reported · desk researchSource

CHAIN - the previous 'belt' verdict was the AUTODOC title trap. Opposite-kit test: AUTODOC's timing-belt and timing-belt-kit pages for the Sportage SL and QL 2.0 CRDi (D4HA) both carry 'Unfortunately, item ... is not available', while the chain pages list ~20 chains/kits tagged D4HA (G-S6, G-S7, G-S10); Sealey and Laser sell fuel-pump sprocket tools explicitly 'for Hyundai Kia chain drive diesel engines', D4HA (G-S13, G-S14). Camshaft test: febi 176293, catalogued against D4HA, is a 'Timing Chain Kit for camshaft and injection pump' whose 90-link upper chain is 'Timing Chain for camshaft' (G-S15) - a two-stage chain drive (crank -> injection pump, -> camshafts). Manufacturer control: Hyundai's own European schedule for the twin Tucson 2.0 TCI / 2.0 48V MHEV (1,995 cc) has NO timing-belt item while scheduling belts for the Smartstream D1.6 in the same table (G-S4). No scheduled replacement. The one catalogue contradiction - Gates K015696XS (a Smartstream D1.6 belt kit) listed for the 2018-2022 Sportage 2.0 48V (G-S10, G-S11) - is a TecDoc mis-link and is not relied on. The 160,000-mile figure previously carried here belongs to the 2,151 cc Smartstream D2.2 (G-S2, G-S3), a different engine.

Engine oil & filter
Every 12 months or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource

2.2 CRDi (R-family, D4HB)

2.2-litre · diesel · 2009–2020

Fitted to: Sorento XM (2009-2015), Sorento UM (2015-2020)

Chain

Timing chain

No scheduled replacement

Reported · desk researchSource

CHAIN for the 2,199 cc R-family D4HB (Sorento XM / UM). Opposite-kit test: AUTODOC's 'Timing belt' page for the Sorento UM 2.2 CRDi D4HB is a title trap - 19 of 20 listings are brake pads and discs, the one real belt is an unkitted FAI part tagged to another kit number - while its chain page lists 20 chains/kits tagged D4HB (G-S8); Lymm's D4HB search returns only chain kits ('2 Chains, 2 Gears, 4 Guide Rails & 2 Tensioners', Sorento/Sedona and Santa Fe 2199cc 2009-2020) (G-S12); Sealey and Laser class D4HB as a 'chain drive' diesel (G-S13, G-S14). The XM Sorento from 2009 shows the same chain-only picture (G-S17). Camshaft test: the same 90-link 'Timing Chain for camshaft' + 72-link injection-pump chain pair (febi 176293) (G-S15, G-S8). No scheduled replacement. The 160,000-mile belt figure previously carried here is Kia's figure for the 2,151 cc Smartstream D2.2 in the 2020-on Sorento MQ4 (G-S2, G-S3) - a different engine, separated from this one by capacity.

Engine oil & filter
Every 12 months or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource

2.2 CRDi (Smartstream D2.2, 2,151 cc) - timing belt

2.2-litre · diesel · 2020 on

Fitted to: Sorento MQ4 (2020-)

Belt

Timing belt (cambelt)

Replace every 160,000 miles — no time limit published

Manufacturer-publishedSource

Kia's own European schedule for the MQ4 Sorento, whose only diesel is the Smartstream D2.2: 'Timing belt system (Timing belt, Water pump, Tensioner, Idler) (Diesel) - Inspect Timing belt every 120,000 km (80,000 miles); Replace Timing belt system ... every 240,000 km (160,000 miles)' (G-S2). No time limit is stated by Kia; Hyundai UK puts the same job on the Santa Fe twin at 160,000 miles OR 96 months (G-S1) - not carried across because it is Hyundai's document. Capacity 2,151 cc, bore x stroke 83 x 99.4 (G-S3) - a different engine from the 2,199 cc R-family D4HB, so the two separate by cc. Engine code D4HE from AUTODOC's catalogue headings only (G-S9); AUTODOC lists no parts in either category for it, so the belt verdict rests on Kia's schedule and the camshaft test could NOT be run from a parts source. The belt also drives the water pump. Whether a second (chain) drive exists for the injection pump is unresolved - Laser lists a D4HE among its 'chain driven' 2.0/2.2 CRDi pump-sprocket applications (G-S14), but only in the Hyundai rows and not against the Kia MQ4.

Brake fluid
Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Gearbox oil
8-speed torque-converter automaticNo scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
8-speed DCT (dual-clutch)Every 4 years or 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Coolant / antifreeze
First at 10 years / 140,000 miles, then every 2 years / 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Diesel fuel filter
Every 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Pollen / cabin filter
Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource

2.5 CRDi (A-II, D4CB) — i800 / iLoad / H-1, Kia Sorento Mk1 — three-chain timing drive

2.5-litre · diesel · 2002–2026

Fitted to: Hyundai i800 / H-1 Travel (TQ) 2.5 CRDi (2008-), Hyundai iLoad / H-1 Cargo 2.5 CRDi, Kia Sorento I (JC) 2.5 CRDi 140/170 PS (2002-2011 catalogue range)

Shared engine — also sold as Hyundai

Chain

Timing chain

No scheduled replacement

Reported · desk researchSource

Chain. OPPOSITE-KIT: 99 timing-chain-kit articles for the i800 2.5 CRDi (A2-S31) and 96 for the Sorento I 2.5 CRDi (A2-S35) — the same RIDEX/DOLZ/SNR kits on both, so the same engine. AUTODOC's belt category shows no 'not available' banner, but its ONLY belt for either vehicle is DT Spare Parts 7.54891 (A2-S32, A2-S36), a 152-tooth generic listing shown against ~30 makes with no engine named (A2-S33) — a catalogue artefact, not a second drive. The chain side is further corroborated by a UK chain kit for D4CB/D4CB-L (A2-S34). CAMSHAFT: SNR KDC484.30 contains 'Gear/Sprocket, camshaft' (A2-S31, A2-S35). The kits carry three simplex chains of 80, 90 and 98 links (upper and lower positions) — all chains, so no `secondary` belt. No replacement interval found (the Hyundai UK 'Service Schedule Information' card does not cover the i800 at all). Interference not stated. `years` end is the catalogue's open range (2008-2026 for the i800), not a sourced UK end date.

Every figure above is labelled with how firm it is, and manufacturer-published lines link to the document they came from. Intervals are set per engine and model year, and nobody has checked these against your individual car — treat them as a starting point and confirm against the handbook, the service plan, or a franchised dealer quoting the VIN before booking or skipping work.

Does this engine have a cambelt or a chain? →

How Kia records service data

Kia UK logs workshop activity through the Kia Motors UK dealer management system. Records returned by our lookup include workshop remarks — recall completion, warranty repairs, and activities aligned with the scheduled service intervals — held against the VIN at franchised UK Kia dealers. The 7-year / 100,000-mile manufacturer warranty (one of the strongest in the industry) drives a particularly high rate of dealer-system servicing across the UK Kia fleet, so workshop record density is higher than typical Workshop Remarks brands. Coverage is digital from approximately 2008 onwards, with strong continuity from 2010 across the Kia franchised network. The Kia Connect app shows a customer-facing summary of recent visits for newer cars (Niro, EV6, Sportage and Sorento on Kia Connect). Older entries and recall work are typically retrieved via dealer-system lookup. EV6, Niro EV and Soul EV records include high-voltage battery health checks as separate workshop entries.

Kia models we cover

Full UK Kia range is covered: Picanto (TA/JA), Rio (UB/YB/SC), Stonic, Ceed (JD/CD inc. Ceed SW, ProCeed, XCeed), Niro (DE/SG2 inc. hybrid, PHEV, EV), Soul (PS/SK3 inc. EV), Sportage (SL/QL/NQ5 inc. hybrid and PHEV), Sorento (UM/MQ4 inc. hybrid and PHEV), Stinger, Stonic, EV6, e-Niro, e-Soul, Optima, Carens, Venga. Some older models (Carens, Sedona / Carnival, Cerato) may have partial coverage. The 7-year warranty drives strong record-keeping density on post-2010 Kia models in particular.

Kia-specific things to know

Three Kia-specific things to know: First, the 7-year / 100,000-mile warranty is the strongest selling point of the brand and is tied to the VIN — but it requires servicing within Kia-specified intervals and to manufacturer spec. The workshop record is the proof. A 3-year-old Sportage with verified workshop history still has 4 years of warranty cover left, which is a tangible price difference. Second, EV6, e-Niro and Soul EV models have an additional 7-year / 100,000-mile battery warranty (with a 70%-of-original-capacity floor) which depends on the annual high-voltage battery health check — verify this appears as a workshop entry. Third, the 1.6 CRDi diesel (in earlier Sportage, Sorento, Ceed) had DPF and EGR issues similar to Hyundai's 1.6 CRDi; dealer-record entries for DPF cleaning or EGR work are reassuring on second-hand examples.

Why check Kia service history before buying

Kia resale value is closely tied to remaining warranty cover. A Kia with verified workshop history that still has 3+ years of the 7-year warranty remaining typically commands 10-15% more than a comparable car with patchy history or out of warranty. For EV6, e-Niro and Soul EV, the high-voltage battery health-check entry is the strongest signal of correct EV care and extends battery warranty cover. For Sportage and Sorento diesel buyers, verify DPF and EGR-related entries. The new Sorento and Sportage PHEV variants have additional service items for the hybrid system — verify these appear in records.

Common Kia problems and recalls

Recalls, faults Kia has acknowledged and problems the motoring press reports — each one sourced — for any Kia built from 2012, by registration or by model.

Check any Kia for common problems →

Before you view a used Kia, two more free checks are worth a minute. The car's full MOT history is free to view — every test result, advisory and recorded mileage on the DVSA record. A free car spec check then confirms the engine size, fuel type, colour and year match the advert.

How It Works

Three Simple Steps

1

Enter Your Registration

Type in your vehicle registration number (VRM) — it takes seconds.

2

We Check Official Records

We query manufacturer dealership databases — the same systems used by franchised dealers.

3

Receive Your Report In Minutes

Most reports land in your inbox within minutes of payment — full digital service history, ready to download or print.

What You Get

Your Complete Service History Report

Service Dates & Mileage

See every recorded service date and mileage reading from official manufacturer systems.

Work Performed

Details of servicing work carried out at each visit — oil changes, inspections, repairs and more.

Official Dealership Records

Data sourced directly from manufacturer OE systems — the same records franchised dealers use.

Digital Report via Email

Your complete service history report is delivered instantly to your email address as a digital document.

No Charge If We Find Nothing

Your card is authorised at checkout but only charged when we successfully return records. Find nothing? The authorisation is cancelled — no charge ever happens.

Major Brand Coverage

Full dealer records for BMW, Mercedes, Audi, Ford, Toyota, Volkswagen, Porsche, Jaguar, Land Rover and many more — plus partial coverage for many others.

Factory Build Sheet (optional)

Add the exact factory paint name and code, interior trim, gearbox and every option the manufacturer fitted.

Why Service History Matters

Protect Your Investment

Missing service history is one of the biggest value killers when buying or selling a used vehicle. Don't leave money on the table.

Up to 23%

Value lost without service history

Up to £3,000

More value with full service history

Up to 75%

Of buyers won't buy without service history

No Charge

If no records are found

Kia Service History FAQ

Can I check Kia service history online?
Yes. You can check a Kia's service history online by reg or VIN — there's no need to visit a dealer or post any paperwork. We query the Kia dealer network's own records and return every service logged against the vehicle, with dates and mileage, alongside its free MOT history. Results arrive in minutes and cost £9.99, with no charge if no records are found.Check Kia service history online →
Does Kia keep digital service records?
Yes. Kia maintains digital workshop records through the Kia Motors UK dealer system. Our service returns workshop remarks including recalls, warranty work, and service-related activities held against the VIN.
Is Kia service history important for the warranty?
Yes — critically. Kia's 7-year / 100,000-mile warranty requires servicing within manufacturer intervals to manufacturer spec. The workshop record at a Kia dealer is the proof. Losing warranty eligibility through missed services removes one of Kia's biggest resale advantages.
What data will I receive for a Kia?
For Kia, you receive workshop remarks including recall completion, warranty repairs, and activities aligned with scheduled service intervals. The 7-year warranty drives a particularly high density of dealer-system entries on most UK Kias.
What Kia models are covered?
All UK Kia models are covered, including Picanto, Rio, Stonic, Ceed (inc. ProCeed, XCeed, SW), Niro (inc. hybrid, PHEV, EV), Soul, Sportage (inc. hybrid, PHEV), Sorento (inc. hybrid, PHEV), Stinger, EV6, e-Niro and Optima.
Are EV battery checks logged?
Yes. For EV6, e-Niro and Soul EV, the annual high-voltage battery health check is recorded as a workshop entry. The 7-year / 100,000-mile battery warranty (with a 70%-of-original-capacity floor) depends on this being completed at a Kia dealer.
Does the Kia warranty transfer to a new owner?
Yes. Kia's 7-year warranty is tied to the VIN, not the customer. When the car changes hands, the remaining warranty transfers with it — provided servicing has been kept up to spec. The workshop record proves this.
Does the Kia Connect app show all dealer records?
No. The Kia Connect app shows recent services for supported newer models (Niro, EV6, Sportage, Sorento). Older entries, recall work and warranty repairs typically only appear in the dealer-system lookup.
How does service history affect Kia resale?
Kia resale value is heavily tied to the remaining warranty period. A car with verified workshop history that still has 3+ years of 7-year warranty cover typically commands 10-15% more than an out-of-warranty equivalent.

Related brands (Hyundai Motor Group)

Kia shares dealer infrastructure with these brands — lookup works the same way.

See What Your Report Looks Like

View a sample report to understand exactly what data you'll receive.

View Sample Report