Hyundai Service History
Workshop RemarksHyundai is a Korean manufacturer with a major UK dealer network. The Tucson, i10, i20, Kona, and IONIQ 5 are popular models. Hyundai's 5-year unlimited-mileage warranty means many vehicles have digital dealer workshop records.
Coverage last reviewed: June 2026
Coverage Level
Workshop remarks including recalls and warranty work. Where workshop remarks align with service schedules, this strongly indicates a service was carried out.
If no records are found, your card is not charged — the authorisation is cancelled, no payment is taken.
Service Intervals
Hyundai's interval depends on fuel type. Petrol and hybrid models registered from September 2017 run 12 months or 10,000 miles; diesels run 12 months or a longer 20,000 miles. Electric models depend on the car — earlier IONIQ Electric and Kona Electric run 12 months or 10,000 miles, while the IONIQ 5, IONIQ 6 and 2024-on Kona Electric run 2 years or 20,000 miles. Servicing on time protects the 5-year warranty.
Intervals vary by engine, model year and schedule type — check the car's own handbook or service plan for the figure that applies to it.
What's Included
- ✓Service dates & mileage
- ✓Work performed at each visit
- ✓Official dealership records
- ✓Full MOT history
- ✓Digital report with PDF export
Hyundai service intervals by engine
Hyundai sets its schedule per engine, not per badge, so the figures below are broken out by engine family — 21 of them — with the timing drive, oil, brake fluid and the rest of the items each one schedules. Some are group engines sold under more than one marque, and those say so. Where a line says manufacturer-published, it links to the document it came from.
1.0 MPI (Kappa)
1.0-litre · petrol · 2011–2023
Fitted to: i10, i20
Timing chain
No scheduled replacement
Chain-driven camshafts, no scheduled replacement. Two tests applied. (1) CONTROL, inside Hyundai's own documents: the Hyundai UK service cards and the European owner's-manual schedules DO carry explicit timing-belt lines - 'Replace oil pump and timing belts (1.6 U3 only)' and 'Timing belt (2.2R - Product Enhanced TM model only)' on the UK diesel card, and 'Timing belt system (Timing belt, Oil pump belt, Tensioner, Idler)' for the Smartstream D1.6 in the Kona, Tucson and i40 manuals. No timing-belt item of any kind appears against this engine in any of them. (2) Parts catalogues list a timing chain / chain kit against the engine code and no cam-belt kit. Derived from the absence of a scheduled belt rather than from a positive Hyundai statement, so recorded as reported.
- Engine oil & filter
- Every 12 months or 10,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Manual gearboxEvery 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Torque-converter automaticEvery 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- 6/7-speed DCT dual-clutchEvery 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- 8-speed wet DCT (i30 N, Kona N)Every 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- IVT (Intelligent Variable Transmission, CVT)No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 6 years / 60,000 miles, then every 6 years / 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Spark plugs
- Every 4 years or 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Diesel fuel filter
- No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
1.0 T-GDi (Kappa / Smartstream G1.0 T-GDi, incl. 48V MHEV)
1.0-litre · petrol · 2015–2026
Fitted to: i10 N Line, i20, i20 N Line, Bayon, i30, Kona
Timing chain
No scheduled replacement
Chain-driven camshafts, no scheduled replacement. Two tests applied. (1) CONTROL, inside Hyundai's own documents: the Hyundai UK service cards and the European owner's-manual schedules DO carry explicit timing-belt lines - 'Replace oil pump and timing belts (1.6 U3 only)' and 'Timing belt (2.2R - Product Enhanced TM model only)' on the UK diesel card, and 'Timing belt system (Timing belt, Oil pump belt, Tensioner, Idler)' for the Smartstream D1.6 in the Kona, Tucson and i40 manuals. No timing-belt item of any kind appears against this engine in any of them. (2) Parts catalogues list a timing chain / chain kit against the engine code and no cam-belt kit. Derived from the absence of a scheduled belt rather than from a positive Hyundai statement, so recorded as reported. Separately, the 48V MHEV cars carry a MILD-HYBRID BELT that IS a service item: first inspection at 15,000 km (10,000 miles) or 12 months, then replace every 105,000 km (Hyundai prints '65,200 miles') or 84 months (S2). It is not a timing drive - do not confuse the two.
- Engine oil & filter
- Every 12 months or 10,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Manual gearboxEvery 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Torque-converter automaticEvery 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- 6/7-speed DCT dual-clutchEvery 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- 8-speed wet DCT (i30 N, Kona N)Every 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- IVT (Intelligent Variable Transmission, CVT)No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 6 years / 60,000 miles, then every 6 years / 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Spark plugs
- Every 4 years or 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Diesel fuel filter
- No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
1.2 MPI (Kappa / Smartstream) - 1,197 cc
1.2-litre · petrol · 2019–2026
Fitted to: i10 (AC3), i20 (BC3), Bayon
Timing chain
No scheduled replacement
Chain-driven camshafts, no scheduled replacement. Two tests applied. (1) CONTROL, inside Hyundai's own documents: the Hyundai UK service cards and the European owner's-manual schedules DO carry explicit timing-belt lines - 'Replace oil pump and timing belts (1.6 U3 only)' and 'Timing belt (2.2R - Product Enhanced TM model only)' on the UK diesel card, and 'Timing belt system (Timing belt, Oil pump belt, Tensioner, Idler)' for the Smartstream D1.6 in the Kona, Tucson and i40 manuals. No timing-belt item of any kind appears against this engine in any of them. (2) Parts catalogues list a timing chain / chain kit against the engine code and no cam-belt kit. Derived from the absence of a scheduled belt rather than from a positive Hyundai statement, so recorded as reported.
- Engine oil & filter
- Every 12 months or 10,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Manual gearboxEvery 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Torque-converter automaticEvery 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- 6/7-speed DCT dual-clutchEvery 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- 8-speed wet DCT (i30 N, Kona N)Every 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- IVT (Intelligent Variable Transmission, CVT)No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 6 years / 60,000 miles, then every 6 years / 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Spark plugs
- Every 4 years or 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Diesel fuel filter
- No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
1.2 MPI (Kappa) - 1,248 cc
1.2-litre · petrol · 2008–2020
Fitted to: i10 (PA, IA), i20 (PB, GB) '1.25'
Timing chain
No scheduled replacement
Chain-driven camshafts, no scheduled replacement. Two tests applied. (1) CONTROL, inside Hyundai's own documents: the Hyundai UK service cards and the European owner's-manual schedules DO carry explicit timing-belt lines - 'Replace oil pump and timing belts (1.6 U3 only)' and 'Timing belt (2.2R - Product Enhanced TM model only)' on the UK diesel card, and 'Timing belt system (Timing belt, Oil pump belt, Tensioner, Idler)' for the Smartstream D1.6 in the Kona, Tucson and i40 manuals. No timing-belt item of any kind appears against this engine in any of them. (2) Parts catalogues list a timing chain / chain kit against the engine code and no cam-belt kit. Derived from the absence of a scheduled belt rather than from a positive Hyundai statement, so recorded as reported.
- Engine oil & filter
- Every 12 months or 10,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Manual gearboxEvery 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Torque-converter automaticEvery 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- 6/7-speed DCT dual-clutchEvery 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- 8-speed wet DCT (i30 N, Kona N)Every 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- IVT (Intelligent Variable Transmission, CVT)No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 6 years / 60,000 miles, then every 6 years / 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Spark plugs
- Every 4 years or 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Diesel fuel filter
- No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
1.4 MPI (Gamma II)
1.4-litre · petrol · 2014–2021
Fitted to: i20 (GB, BC3), i30 (PD), Kona (OS), Bayon
Timing chain
No scheduled replacement
Chain-driven camshafts, no scheduled replacement. Two tests applied. (1) CONTROL, inside Hyundai's own documents: the Hyundai UK service cards and the European owner's-manual schedules DO carry explicit timing-belt lines - 'Replace oil pump and timing belts (1.6 U3 only)' and 'Timing belt (2.2R - Product Enhanced TM model only)' on the UK diesel card, and 'Timing belt system (Timing belt, Oil pump belt, Tensioner, Idler)' for the Smartstream D1.6 in the Kona, Tucson and i40 manuals. No timing-belt item of any kind appears against this engine in any of them. (2) Parts catalogues list a timing chain / chain kit against the engine code and no cam-belt kit. Derived from the absence of a scheduled belt rather than from a positive Hyundai statement, so recorded as reported.
- Engine oil & filter
- Registered from 1 September 2017 - Hyundai UK scheduleEvery 12 months or 10,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Earlier cars - European owner's-manual schedule of the same eraEvery 12 months or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Manual gearboxEvery 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Torque-converter automaticEvery 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- 6/7-speed DCT dual-clutchEvery 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- 8-speed wet DCT (i30 N, Kona N)Every 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- IVT (Intelligent Variable Transmission, CVT)No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 6 years / 60,000 miles, then every 6 years / 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Spark plugs
- Every 4 years or 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Diesel fuel filter
- No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
1.4 T-GDi (Kappa)
1.4-litre · petrol · 2016–2021
Fitted to: i30 (PD), i30 Fastback, Kona (OS), Tucson (TL), Veloster
Timing chain
No scheduled replacement
Chain-driven camshafts, no scheduled replacement. Two tests applied. (1) CONTROL, inside Hyundai's own documents: the Hyundai UK service cards and the European owner's-manual schedules DO carry explicit timing-belt lines - 'Replace oil pump and timing belts (1.6 U3 only)' and 'Timing belt (2.2R - Product Enhanced TM model only)' on the UK diesel card, and 'Timing belt system (Timing belt, Oil pump belt, Tensioner, Idler)' for the Smartstream D1.6 in the Kona, Tucson and i40 manuals. No timing-belt item of any kind appears against this engine in any of them. (2) Parts catalogues list a timing chain / chain kit against the engine code and no cam-belt kit. Derived from the absence of a scheduled belt rather than from a positive Hyundai statement, so recorded as reported.
- Engine oil & filter
- Every 12 months or 10,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Manual gearboxEvery 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Torque-converter automaticEvery 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- 6/7-speed DCT dual-clutchEvery 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- 8-speed wet DCT (i30 N, Kona N)Every 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- IVT (Intelligent Variable Transmission, CVT)No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 6 years / 60,000 miles, then every 6 years / 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Spark plugs
- Every 4 years or 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Diesel fuel filter
- No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
1.5 T-GDi (Smartstream G1.5 T-GDi, incl. 48V MHEV)
1.5-litre · petrol · 2020–2026
Fitted to: i20, i20 N Line, Bayon, i30, Kona (SX2), Tucson (NX4)
Timing chain
No scheduled replacement
Chain-driven camshafts, no scheduled replacement. Two tests applied. (1) CONTROL, inside Hyundai's own documents: the Hyundai UK service cards and the European owner's-manual schedules DO carry explicit timing-belt lines - 'Replace oil pump and timing belts (1.6 U3 only)' and 'Timing belt (2.2R - Product Enhanced TM model only)' on the UK diesel card, and 'Timing belt system (Timing belt, Oil pump belt, Tensioner, Idler)' for the Smartstream D1.6 in the Kona, Tucson and i40 manuals. No timing-belt item of any kind appears against this engine in any of them. (2) Parts catalogues list a timing chain / chain kit against the engine code and no cam-belt kit. Derived from the absence of a scheduled belt rather than from a positive Hyundai statement, so recorded as reported. 48V MHEV cars additionally carry a mild-hybrid belt, inspected at every service.
- Engine oil & filter
- Every 12 months or 10,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Manual gearboxEvery 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Torque-converter automaticEvery 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- 6/7-speed DCT dual-clutchEvery 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- 8-speed wet DCT (i30 N, Kona N)Every 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- IVT (Intelligent Variable Transmission, CVT)No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 6 years / 60,000 miles, then every 6 years / 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Spark plugs
- Every 4 years or 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Diesel fuel filter
- No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
1.6 CRDi (Smartstream D1.6, '1.6 U3', incl. 48V MHEV)
1.6-litre · diesel · 2018–2023
Fitted to: i30 (PD), i40, Kona (OS), Tucson (TL, NX4)
Timing belt (cambelt)
Replace every 8 years or 160,000 miles
THE exception in the modern Hyundai range - this diesel went BACK to a belt after the chain-driven U-II engines. Hyundai's own words: 'Timing belt system (Timing belt, Oil pump belt, Tensioner, Idler) - Inspect Timing belt every 120,000 km (80,000 miles); Replace Timing belt system every 240,000 km (160,000 miles)' (S2, with the same wording in the i40 manual S12). The Hyundai UK diesel card carries it as 'Replace oil pump and timing belts (1.6 U3 only)' at 160,000 miles / 96 months (S11) - note the PLURAL: there is a cam timing belt AND a separate oil-pump belt, and the Tucson TLe wording puts the water pump inside the replaced kit as well. Some aftermarket catalogues also sell a chain kit against D4FE, so this engine genuinely has both a belt and a chain; the belt is the one Hyundai schedules and the one Hyundai calls the timing belt. Interference status is not stated in any Hyundai document consulted.
- Engine oil & filter
- Every 12 months or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Manual gearboxEvery 6 years or 120,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Torque-converter automaticEvery 6 years or 120,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- 7-speed DCT dual-clutchEvery 6 years or 120,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- 8-speed wet DCTEvery 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 6 years / 120,000 miles, then every 6 years / 120,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Diesel fuel filter
- Every 2 years or 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
1.6 CRDi (U-II)
1.6-litre · diesel · 2007–2020
Fitted to: i30 (FD, GD, PD), i20, ix20, ix35, Tucson (TL)
Timing chain
No scheduled replacement
Chain-driven camshafts, no scheduled replacement. Two tests applied. (1) CONTROL, inside Hyundai's own documents: the Hyundai UK service cards and the European owner's-manual schedules DO carry explicit timing-belt lines - 'Replace oil pump and timing belts (1.6 U3 only)' and 'Timing belt (2.2R - Product Enhanced TM model only)' on the UK diesel card, and 'Timing belt system (Timing belt, Oil pump belt, Tensioner, Idler)' for the Smartstream D1.6 in the Kona, Tucson and i40 manuals. No timing-belt item of any kind appears against this engine in any of them. (2) Parts catalogues list a timing chain / chain kit against the engine code and no cam-belt kit. Derived from the absence of a scheduled belt rather than from a positive Hyundai statement, so recorded as reported. CAVEAT on the control test: buycarparts.co.uk serves a 'timing belt kit' page for the same i30 GD 1.6 CRDi vehicle id as its timing-chain page (S20), which is a catalogue mis-mapping - Hyundai's own schedule for that car lists no cam belt at all, while the same publisher's schedule DOES list one for the later Smartstream D1.6. Do not read a single kit listing as decisive on this engine family.
- Engine oil & filter
- Every 12 months or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Manual gearboxEvery 6 years or 120,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Torque-converter automaticEvery 6 years or 120,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- 7-speed DCT dual-clutchEvery 6 years or 120,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- 8-speed wet DCTEvery 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 6 years / 120,000 miles, then every 6 years / 120,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Diesel fuel filter
- Every 2 years or 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
1.6 GDI (Gamma)
1.6-litre · petrol · 2011–2020
Fitted to: i30 (GD, PD), i40, Tucson (TL), Kona (OS), ix35, Veloster
Timing chain
No scheduled replacement
Chain-driven camshafts, no scheduled replacement. Two tests applied. (1) CONTROL, inside Hyundai's own documents: the Hyundai UK service cards and the European owner's-manual schedules DO carry explicit timing-belt lines - 'Replace oil pump and timing belts (1.6 U3 only)' and 'Timing belt (2.2R - Product Enhanced TM model only)' on the UK diesel card, and 'Timing belt system (Timing belt, Oil pump belt, Tensioner, Idler)' for the Smartstream D1.6 in the Kona, Tucson and i40 manuals. No timing-belt item of any kind appears against this engine in any of them. (2) Parts catalogues list a timing chain / chain kit against the engine code and no cam-belt kit. Derived from the absence of a scheduled belt rather than from a positive Hyundai statement, so recorded as reported.
- Engine oil & filter
- Registered from 1 September 2017 - Hyundai UK scheduleEvery 12 months or 10,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Earlier cars - European owner's-manual scheduleEvery 12 months or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Manual gearboxEvery 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Torque-converter automaticEvery 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- 6/7-speed DCT dual-clutchEvery 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- 8-speed wet DCT (i30 N, Kona N)Every 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- IVT (Intelligent Variable Transmission, CVT)No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 6 years / 60,000 miles, then every 6 years / 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Spark plugs
- Every 4 years or 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Diesel fuel filter
- No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
1.6 GDI Hybrid / Plug-in Hybrid (Kappa)
1.6-litre · petrol · hybrid · 2016–2023
Fitted to: IONIQ Hybrid, IONIQ Plug-in Hybrid, Kona Hybrid
Timing chain
No scheduled replacement
Chain-driven camshafts, no scheduled replacement. Two tests applied. (1) CONTROL, inside Hyundai's own documents: the Hyundai UK service cards and the European owner's-manual schedules DO carry explicit timing-belt lines - 'Replace oil pump and timing belts (1.6 U3 only)' and 'Timing belt (2.2R - Product Enhanced TM model only)' on the UK diesel card, and 'Timing belt system (Timing belt, Oil pump belt, Tensioner, Idler)' for the Smartstream D1.6 in the Kona, Tucson and i40 manuals. No timing-belt item of any kind appears against this engine in any of them. (2) Parts catalogues list a timing chain / chain kit against the engine code and no cam-belt kit. Derived from the absence of a scheduled belt rather than from a positive Hyundai statement, so recorded as reported. The real belt on this car is the HSG (Hybrid Starter & Generator) belt, which drives the motor-generator, not the camshafts: the IONIQ manual says inspect every 15,000 km (10,000 miles) or 12 months and replace every 105,000 km (70,000 miles) or 48 months (S3); the Hyundai UK card replaces it at 60,000 and 120,000 miles (S11). Take whichever falls first.
- Engine oil & filter
- Every 12 months or 10,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- 6-speed DCT dual-clutchEvery 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 6 years / 60,000 miles, then every 6 years / 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Spark plugs
- Every 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Diesel fuel filter
- No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Hybrid health check
- Every 12 months or 10,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
1.6 T-GDi (Gamma)
1.6-litre · petrol · 2014–2021
Fitted to: Tucson (TL), i30 N Line / i30 N (PD), Kona (OS), Veloster
Timing chain
No scheduled replacement
Chain-driven camshafts, no scheduled replacement. Two tests applied. (1) CONTROL, inside Hyundai's own documents: the Hyundai UK service cards and the European owner's-manual schedules DO carry explicit timing-belt lines - 'Replace oil pump and timing belts (1.6 U3 only)' and 'Timing belt (2.2R - Product Enhanced TM model only)' on the UK diesel card, and 'Timing belt system (Timing belt, Oil pump belt, Tensioner, Idler)' for the Smartstream D1.6 in the Kona, Tucson and i40 manuals. No timing-belt item of any kind appears against this engine in any of them. (2) Parts catalogues list a timing chain / chain kit against the engine code and no cam-belt kit. Derived from the absence of a scheduled belt rather than from a positive Hyundai statement, so recorded as reported.
- Engine oil & filter
- Every 12 months or 10,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Manual gearboxEvery 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Torque-converter automaticEvery 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- 6/7-speed DCT dual-clutchEvery 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- 8-speed wet DCT (i30 N, Kona N)Every 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- IVT (Intelligent Variable Transmission, CVT)No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 6 years / 60,000 miles, then every 6 years / 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Spark plugs
- Every 4 years or 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Diesel fuel filter
- No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
1.6 T-GDi (Smartstream G1.6 T-GDi, incl. 48V MHEV)
1.6-litre · petrol · 2020–2026
Fitted to: Tucson (NX4), Kona (SX2), Santa Fe, i30 N
Timing chain
No scheduled replacement
Chain-driven camshafts, no scheduled replacement. Two tests applied. (1) CONTROL, inside Hyundai's own documents: the Hyundai UK service cards and the European owner's-manual schedules DO carry explicit timing-belt lines - 'Replace oil pump and timing belts (1.6 U3 only)' and 'Timing belt (2.2R - Product Enhanced TM model only)' on the UK diesel card, and 'Timing belt system (Timing belt, Oil pump belt, Tensioner, Idler)' for the Smartstream D1.6 in the Kona, Tucson and i40 manuals. No timing-belt item of any kind appears against this engine in any of them. (2) Parts catalogues list a timing chain / chain kit against the engine code and no cam-belt kit. Derived from the absence of a scheduled belt rather than from a positive Hyundai statement, so recorded as reported.
- Engine oil & filter
- Every 12 months or 10,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Manual gearboxEvery 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Torque-converter automaticEvery 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- 6/7-speed DCT dual-clutchEvery 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- 8-speed wet DCT (i30 N, Kona N)Every 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- IVT (Intelligent Variable Transmission, CVT)No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 6 years / 60,000 miles, then every 6 years / 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Spark plugs
- Every 4 years or 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Diesel fuel filter
- No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
1.6 T-GDi Hybrid / Plug-in Hybrid (Smartstream)
1.6-litre · petrol · hybrid · 2020–2026
Fitted to: Tucson Hybrid / Plug-in Hybrid (NX4), Santa Fe Hybrid / Plug-in Hybrid
Timing chain
No scheduled replacement
Chain-driven camshafts, no scheduled replacement. Two tests applied. (1) CONTROL, inside Hyundai's own documents: the Hyundai UK service cards and the European owner's-manual schedules DO carry explicit timing-belt lines - 'Replace oil pump and timing belts (1.6 U3 only)' and 'Timing belt (2.2R - Product Enhanced TM model only)' on the UK diesel card, and 'Timing belt system (Timing belt, Oil pump belt, Tensioner, Idler)' for the Smartstream D1.6 in the Kona, Tucson and i40 manuals. No timing-belt item of any kind appears against this engine in any of them. (2) Parts catalogues list a timing chain / chain kit against the engine code and no cam-belt kit. Derived from the absence of a scheduled belt rather than from a positive Hyundai statement, so recorded as reported. HSG belt: inspect every 15,000 km (10,000 miles) or 12 months, replace every 105,000 km (70,000 miles) or 48 months (S8); Hyundai UK replaces it at 60,000 and 120,000 miles (S11).
- Engine oil & filter
- Every 12 months or 10,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- 6-speed torque-converter automaticEvery 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 6 years / 60,000 miles, then every 6 years / 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Spark plugs
- Every 6 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Diesel fuel filter
- No scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Hybrid health check
- Every 12 months or 10,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
1.7 CRDi (U-II, '1.7 VGT')
1.7-litre · diesel · 2011–2019
Fitted to: i40, i30 (GD), ix35, Tucson (TL)
Timing chain
No scheduled replacement
Chain-driven camshafts, no scheduled replacement. Two tests applied. (1) CONTROL, inside Hyundai's own documents: the Hyundai UK service cards and the European owner's-manual schedules DO carry explicit timing-belt lines - 'Replace oil pump and timing belts (1.6 U3 only)' and 'Timing belt (2.2R - Product Enhanced TM model only)' on the UK diesel card, and 'Timing belt system (Timing belt, Oil pump belt, Tensioner, Idler)' for the Smartstream D1.6 in the Kona, Tucson and i40 manuals. No timing-belt item of any kind appears against this engine in any of them. (2) Parts catalogues list a timing chain / chain kit against the engine code and no cam-belt kit. Derived from the absence of a scheduled belt rather than from a positive Hyundai statement, so recorded as reported. Strongest control available: the i40 manual's schedule DOES contain a timing-belt line, but it is qualified '(Smartstream D1.6)' - the 1.7 VGT in the SAME table has none. The camshaft test is satisfied on the parts side too: chain kits for U2-D4FD contain two chains plus camshaft gears (the second chain drives the high-pressure fuel pump), which only makes sense if the chain turns the cams.
- Engine oil & filter
- Every 12 months or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Manual gearboxEvery 6 years or 120,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Torque-converter automaticEvery 6 years or 120,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- 7-speed DCT dual-clutchEvery 6 years or 120,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- 8-speed wet DCTEvery 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 6 years / 120,000 miles, then every 6 years / 120,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Diesel fuel filter
- Every 2 years or 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
2.0 CRDi (R, incl. 2.0 48V MHEV)
2.0-litre · diesel · 2009–2021
Fitted to: Santa Fe (CM, DM, TM), ix35, Tucson (TL, NX4)
Timing chain
No scheduled replacement
Chain-driven camshafts, no scheduled replacement - the existing verdict stands, with the two tests now done directly. Manufacturer control: Hyundai's European schedule for the Tucson TLe schedules a timing belt and an oil belt for the Smartstream D1.6 / 1.6 48V MHEV and nothing of the kind for the '2.0 TCI / 2.0 48V MHEV' (1,995 cc, 84x90) in the same table; the 2.0 48V MHEV's only extra belt is a water-pump drive belt inspected with the MHEV belt (G-S4). Opposite-kit test: chain kits catalogued against D4HA, belt categories 'not available' (G-S6, G-S7, G-S10); Sealey and Laser fuel-pump sprocket tools for 'chain drive' 2.0/2.2 CRDi, D4HA, covering ix35 2010-2016 and Tucson 2015-on (G-S13, G-S14). Camshaft test: febi 176293 'Timing Chain Kit for camshaft and injection pump' - 90-link upper 'Timing Chain for camshaft' plus a 72-link injection-pump chain (G-S15). A Gates Smartstream-D1.6 belt kit catalogued against the 2018-on 2.0 48V Kia Sportage twin is a TecDoc mis-link (G-S10, G-S11).
- Engine oil & filter
- Every 12 months or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Manual gearboxEvery 6 years or 120,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Torque-converter automaticEvery 6 years or 120,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- 7-speed DCT dual-clutchEvery 6 years or 120,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- 8-speed wet DCTEvery 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 6 years / 120,000 miles, then every 6 years / 120,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Diesel fuel filter
- Every 2 years or 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
2.2 CRDi (R)
2.2-litre · diesel · 2009–2020
Fitted to: Santa Fe CM facelift (2009-2012), Santa Fe DM (2012-2018), Grand Santa Fe (2013-2016), Santa Fe TM pre-facelift (2018-2020)
Timing chain
No scheduled replacement
CHAIN, no scheduled replacement, for the 2,199 cc R2.2 (D4HB) in the Santa Fe CM facelift, DM, Grand Santa Fe and pre-facelift TM. The belt job previously carried on this entry (160,000 miles / 96 months) belongs to the facelifted 'Product Enhanced' TM only (G-S1), which is the Smartstream D2.2 - now its own entry. Opposite-kit test: Lymm TCK268 D4HB chain kit '2 Chains, 2 Gears, 4 Guide Rails & 2 Tensioners', fitment 'Hyundai Santa Fe Diesel - 2.2 2199cc 2009-2020', and no belt kit returned for D4HB (G-S12); AUTODOC's D4HB belt categories (Sorento UM and the pre-facelift Santa Fe TM 2018) are title traps listing brake parts, while the chain categories list 20 parts tagged D4HB (G-S8, G-S16); Sealey/Laser 'chain drive' tools list D4HB for Santa Fe 2009-on and Grand Santa Fe (G-S13, G-S14). Camshaft test: 90-link upper 'Timing Chain for camshaft' + 72-link injection-pump chain (febi 176293, G-S15). The pre-facelift TM manual names the engine 'R2.2', 2,199 cc, 85.4x96 (G-S5).
- Engine oil & filter
- Every 12 months or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Manual gearboxEvery 6 years or 120,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Torque-converter automaticEvery 6 years or 120,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- 7-speed DCT dual-clutchEvery 6 years or 120,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- 8-speed wet DCTEvery 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 6 years / 120,000 miles, then every 6 years / 120,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Diesel fuel filter
- Every 2 years or 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
2.2 CRDi (Smartstream D2.2, Santa Fe TM 'Product Enhanced') - timing belt
2.2-litre · diesel · 2020 on
Fitted to: Santa Fe TM facelift ('Product Enhanced', 2020-)
Timing belt (cambelt)
Replace every 8 years or 160,000 miles
Hyundai Motor UK's diesel job card: 'Timing belt (2.2R - Product Enhanced TM model only)' - a single R at the 160,000-mile / 96-month column, no inspections (G-S1, column position checked from PDF coordinates). Hyundai labels it '2.2R', but it is the facelift engine; Kia's manual for the same-generation Sorento names it Smartstream D2.2 and gives the identical 160,000-mile belt replacement plus an 80,000-mile inspection, and a capacity of 2,151 cc (83 x 99.4) (G-S2, G-S3). CAPACITY: 2,151 cc from Kia's specification for the Smartstream D2.2 (G-S3) and from the parts catalogue for the facelift Santa Fe itself ('HYUNDAI Santa Fe IV (TM) 2.2 CRDi 2151 CCM Diesel', engine D4HE, 193 hp, 2022; the pre-facelift TM 2.2 is the D4HB) (G-S16). No Hyundai document states the facelift capacity — Hyundai UK's manual library has no facelift-diesel manual (G-S18). If DVLA reports facelift Santa Fe diesels at 2,199 cc this entry will not reach them. Camshaft test not run from a parts source (no catalogue lists parts for this engine).
2.5 CRDi (A-II, D4CB) — i800 / iLoad / H-1, Kia Sorento Mk1 — three-chain timing drive
2.5-litre · diesel · 2002–2026
Fitted to: Hyundai i800 / H-1 Travel (TQ) 2.5 CRDi (2008-), Hyundai iLoad / H-1 Cargo 2.5 CRDi, Kia Sorento I (JC) 2.5 CRDi 140/170 PS (2002-2011 catalogue range)
Shared engine — also sold as Kia
Timing chain
No scheduled replacement
Chain. OPPOSITE-KIT: 99 timing-chain-kit articles for the i800 2.5 CRDi (A2-S31) and 96 for the Sorento I 2.5 CRDi (A2-S35) — the same RIDEX/DOLZ/SNR kits on both, so the same engine. AUTODOC's belt category shows no 'not available' banner, but its ONLY belt for either vehicle is DT Spare Parts 7.54891 (A2-S32, A2-S36), a 152-tooth generic listing shown against ~30 makes with no engine named (A2-S33) — a catalogue artefact, not a second drive. The chain side is further corroborated by a UK chain kit for D4CB/D4CB-L (A2-S34). CAMSHAFT: SNR KDC484.30 contains 'Gear/Sprocket, camshaft' (A2-S31, A2-S35). The kits carry three simplex chains of 80, 90 and 98 links (upper and lower positions) — all chains, so no `secondary` belt. No replacement interval found (the Hyundai UK 'Service Schedule Information' card does not cover the i800 at all). Interference not stated. `years` end is the catalogue's open range (2008-2026 for the i800), not a sourced UK end date.
Battery electric - 1 year / 10,000 mile service (IONIQ Electric, Kona Electric)
electric · 2016–2023
Fitted to: IONIQ Electric (AE), Kona Electric (OS)
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Single-speed reduction gearEvery 4 years or 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 4 years / 40,000 miles, then every 4 years / 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Scheduled EV service
- Every 12 months or 10,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Battery electric - 2 year / 20,000 mile service (IONIQ 5, IONIQ 6, 2024MY Kona Electric, INSTER)
electric · 2021–2026
Fitted to: IONIQ 5, IONIQ 6, Kona Electric (SX2, 2024MY on), INSTER
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Single-speed reduction gearEvery 4 years or 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 4 years / 40,000 miles, then every 4 years / 40,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Scheduled EV service
- Every 2 years or 20,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Every figure above is labelled with how firm it is, and manufacturer-published lines link to the document they came from. Intervals are set per engine and model year, and nobody has checked these against your individual car — treat them as a starting point and confirm against the handbook, the service plan, or a franchised dealer quoting the VIN before booking or skipping work.
How Hyundai records service data
Hyundai UK logs workshop activity through the Hyundai Motor UK dealer management system. Our lookup returns workshop remarks — including recall work, warranty repairs and activities that align with the manufacturer's recommended service schedule — recorded against the VIN at franchised UK Hyundai dealers. Coverage is digital from approximately 2008 onwards, when Hyundai UK standardised the dealer record-keeping system to support the 5-year unlimited-mileage warranty programme. Records include the workshop visit date, mileage, the nature of the work (recall code, warranty repair description, scheduled service trigger), and the dealer code. Unlike full-coverage brands such as BMW or Mercedes, Hyundai records returned by our service emphasise workshop remarks and warranty entries rather than itemised oil-change details — sufficient to verify warranty compliance and a maintained service pattern, but not always a stamp-by-stamp ledger.
Hyundai models we cover
Full UK Hyundai range is covered: i10 (PA/IA), i20 (BC3/BI3), i30 (PD/PD facelift) hatch / fastback / tourer, i30 N, i40, ix20, ix35, Tucson (TL/NX4 inc. hybrid and PHEV), Santa Fe (TM/MX5 inc. PHEV), Kona (OS/SX2 inc. electric and hybrid), Bayon, Ioniq (AE — first-gen hybrid / EV / PHEV), IONIQ 5, IONIQ 6, NEXO, Genesis (when sold as Hyundai pre-2017). The 5-year warranty programme means most post-2010 Hyundais have consistent dealer service patterns logged in workshop records. Older i10 (PA), i30 (FD), and the older Santa Fe (CM) may have partial coverage.
Hyundai-specific things to know
Three Hyundai-specific things to know: First, the 5-year unlimited-mileage warranty (extended to 8 years / 100,000 miles for high-voltage components on Ioniq, IONIQ 5/6 and Kona Electric) requires servicing on schedule at any Hyundai franchised dealer or to manufacturer spec at an independent — the workshop record proves this. A car that has slipped warranty eligibility through missed services has effectively lost a major selling point. Second, the 1.6 CRDi diesel (in i30, Tucson, ix35, Santa Fe) had known DPF and EGR issues — verifiable dealer workshop remarks including DPF-related work are reassuring. Third, IONIQ 5 / 6 / Kona Electric records should include the high-voltage battery health check (a separate workshop remark) which the 8-year battery warranty depends on.
Why check Hyundai service history before buying
Hyundai resale value is closely tied to documented Hyundai dealer history because of the 5-year warranty — a 3-year-old Tucson with FSH still has 2 years of unlimited-mileage cover left, which is a measurable price difference at trade-in. Workshop records showing the car was serviced on schedule at Hyundai dealers add roughly 8-12% to resale value over partial-history equivalents. For Tucson and Santa Fe diesels (1.7 / 2.0 / 2.2 CRDi) verify DPF and EGR cleaning entries. For IONIQ 5, IONIQ 6 and Kona Electric the high-voltage battery health-check entry is the strongest signal of correct EV care and extends battery warranty cover.
Common Hyundai problems and recalls
Recalls, faults Hyundai has acknowledged and problems the motoring press reports — each one sourced — for any Hyundai built from 2012, by registration or by model.
Check any Hyundai for common problems →Before you view a used Hyundai, two more free checks are worth a minute. It takes a minute to check MOT history by registration: every test result, advisory and recorded mileage, free. You can also check car spec by reg to make sure the engine size, fuel type and year match the advert.
How It Works
Three Simple Steps
Enter Your Registration
Type in your vehicle registration number (VRM) — it takes seconds.
We Check Official Records
We query manufacturer dealership databases — the same systems used by franchised dealers.
Receive Your Report In Minutes
Most reports land in your inbox within minutes of payment — full digital service history, ready to download or print.
What You Get
Your Complete Service History Report
Service Dates & Mileage
See every recorded service date and mileage reading from official manufacturer systems.
Work Performed
Details of servicing work carried out at each visit — oil changes, inspections, repairs and more.
Official Dealership Records
Data sourced directly from manufacturer OE systems — the same records franchised dealers use.
Digital Report via Email
Your complete service history report is delivered instantly to your email address as a digital document.
No Charge If We Find Nothing
Your card is authorised at checkout but only charged when we successfully return records. Find nothing? The authorisation is cancelled — no charge ever happens.
Major Brand Coverage
Full dealer records for BMW, Mercedes, Audi, Ford, Toyota, Volkswagen, Porsche, Jaguar, Land Rover and many more — plus partial coverage for many others.
Factory Build Sheet (optional)
Add the exact factory paint name and code, interior trim, gearbox and every option the manufacturer fitted.
Why Service History Matters
Protect Your Investment
Missing service history is one of the biggest value killers when buying or selling a used vehicle. Don't leave money on the table.
Value lost without service history
More value with full service history
Of buyers won't buy without service history
If no records are found
Hyundai Service History FAQ
Can I check Hyundai service history online?
Does Hyundai keep digital service records?
Is Hyundai service history important for the warranty?
What data will I receive for a Hyundai?
What Hyundai models are covered?
Why is Hyundai classified as Workshop Remarks rather than Full?
Are EV battery health checks logged for IONIQ models?
Does the Hyundai service plan / warranty pass to the new owner?
How does service history affect Hyundai resale?
Learn More About Service History
Hyundai Service History Guide
How Hyundai records service data, what the digital system covers, and how to verify records.
Read guide →What Counts as Full Service History?
The UK definition of FSH, dealer vs independent records, and how gaps affect value.
Read guide →Service History Check vs HPI Check
Different checks for different purposes — what each one covers and when you need both.
Read guide →How to Check Service History Online
How online checks retrieve manufacturer dealer records and what the results show.
Read guide →Check Hyundai service history
Retrieve official Hyundai dealership service records using just a registration number. Results typically arrive within minutes.
Run a Service History Check — £9.99No charge unless we find records
Related brands (Hyundai Motor Group)
Hyundai shares dealer infrastructure with these brands — lookup works the same way.
See What Your Report Looks Like
View a sample report to understand exactly what data you'll receive.
View Sample Report