Kia oil and fluids
What oil does a Kia take?
The oil each Kia engine is approved for and how much an oil and filter change takes, for 15 engines — from Kia's own handbooks where they are published, each with its source. Look your car up by registration for the exact engine, or find it in the list below.
Free · no signup · make, engine and year from the official DVLA record
By engine
1.0 MPi (Kappa / Smartstream G1.0) · 2011–2026
- Engine oil
- C5 · API Latest (ILSAC Latest) · 0W-20(2017–2020 · Picanto (JA) 1.0 MPI / 1.0 FFV)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Outside the Middle East/N. Africa: 'API Latest (ILSAC Latest) or ACEA C5'. Chart (B, non-Middle-East): 0W-20, with 10W-30/15W-40/20W-50 for warm climates.
- Engine oil
- API SN PLUS / SP or ILSAC GF-6 · 0W-20(2020 on · Picanto (JA) Smartstream G1.0)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Chart: 0W-20 only (non-Middle-East).
- Oil capacity
- 3 litres(Picanto (JA) 1.0 MPI)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter.
- Oil capacity
- 3.1 litres(Picanto (JA) Smartstream G1.0)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter.
- Coolant
- Kia phosphate-based ethylene-glycol coolant for aluminium radiators, mixed with (distilled) water
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook wording: 'Mixture of antifreeze and (distilled) water (Ethylene-glycol with phosphate based coolant for cooling device / aluminium radiator)'. Some editions (Rio YB, Stonic, Picanto JA, Carens RP, Sorento UM/MQ4) say only 'ethylene glycol base coolant for aluminium radiator'. Capacity varies by engine/gearbox.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 4 · SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4 (later handbooks)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbooks up to c.2020 (cee'd JD, Ceed CD 19MY, Rio YB, Stonic, Carens RP, Soul PS/SK3, Sorento UM, Niro DE) state 'FMVSS116 DOT-3 or DOT-4'; Ceed CD 2021+, Picanto JA 2022, Sportage NQ5, Niro SG2 and EV6 state SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4; Sorento MQ4 states 'DOT 4'. DOT 4 satisfies every edition.
Fitted to: Picanto, Rio, Stonic
1.0 T-GDi (Kappa / Smartstream G1.0 T-GDi) · 2015–2026
- Engine oil
- A5 · 5W-30(2015–2018 · cee'd (JD facelift))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook: 'ACEA A5 or above / 5W-30'.
- Engine oil
- A5/B5 · 5W-30(2017–2020 · Rio (YB), Stonic)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Table: ACEA A5/B5 for the 1.0L T-GDI (no market split). Rio chart: 5W-30 only.
- Engine oil
- C2 · API SN · 0W-30(2018–2020 · Ceed / ProCeed / XCeed (CD, 19MY))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Table: 'API SN, ACEA C2' for markets other than India/Middle East/N. Africa/Central & South America (i.e. Europe); 'ACEA A5/B5' elsewhere. Chart for Kappa 1.0/1.4 T-GDI: 0W-30, 5W-30 for all countries.
- Engine oil
- API SN PLUS / SP or ILSAC GF-6 · 0W-20(2020 on · Smartstream G1.0 T-GDi (+MHEV): Ceed / XCeed (CD facelift), Picanto (JA))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Full synthetic required outside the Middle East (there: SAE 5W-30, ACEA A5/B5). If unavailable, 'SAE 0W-20 grade synthetic oil can be used'.
- Oil capacity
- 3.6 litres
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter. 3.6 l in every Kia handbook consulted (cee'd JD, Rio YB, Stonic, Ceed CD 19MY and 2021-22, Picanto JA).
- Coolant
- Kia phosphate-based ethylene-glycol coolant for aluminium radiators, mixed with (distilled) water
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook wording: 'Mixture of antifreeze and (distilled) water (Ethylene-glycol with phosphate based coolant for cooling device / aluminium radiator)'. Some editions (Rio YB, Stonic, Picanto JA, Carens RP, Sorento UM/MQ4) say only 'ethylene glycol base coolant for aluminium radiator'. Capacity varies by engine/gearbox.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 4 · SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4 (later handbooks)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbooks up to c.2020 (cee'd JD, Ceed CD 19MY, Rio YB, Stonic, Carens RP, Soul PS/SK3, Sorento UM, Niro DE) state 'FMVSS116 DOT-3 or DOT-4'; Ceed CD 2021+, Picanto JA 2022, Sportage NQ5, Niro SG2 and EV6 state SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4; Sorento MQ4 states 'DOT 4'. DOT 4 satisfies every edition.
Fitted to: Picanto, Rio, Stonic, Ceed, ProCeed, XCeed, Soul
1.25 MPi (Kappa / Smartstream G1.2) · 2011–2023
- Engine oil
- C2 · API SN · 0W-20(2017–2020 · Rio (YB), Stonic 1.2L)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Outside India/Middle East/N. Africa/C&S America: 'API SN, ACEA C2'. Rio chart (Europe): 0W-20, 0W-30, 5W-20, 5W-30, footnote recommends SAE 0W-20 (API SN, ACEA C2).
- Engine oil
- C5 · API Latest (ILSAC Latest) · 0W-20(2017–2020 · Picanto (JA) 1.2 MPI)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Outside the Middle East/N. Africa: 'API Latest (ILSAC Latest) or ACEA C5'; chart 0W-20.
- Engine oil
- API SN PLUS / SP or ILSAC GF-6 · 0W-20(2020 on · Picanto (JA) Smartstream G1.2)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Chart: 0W-20 only. Hyundai's Smartstream G1.2 is 1,197 cc; the handbook does not state this engine's capacity.
- Oil capacity
- 3.5 litres(Rio (YB), Stonic, Picanto (JA) 1.2 MPI)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter.
- Oil capacity
- 3.4 litres(Picanto (JA) Smartstream G1.2)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter.
- Coolant
- Kia phosphate-based ethylene-glycol coolant for aluminium radiators, mixed with (distilled) water
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook wording: 'Mixture of antifreeze and (distilled) water (Ethylene-glycol with phosphate based coolant for cooling device / aluminium radiator)'. Some editions (Rio YB, Stonic, Picanto JA, Carens RP, Sorento UM/MQ4) say only 'ethylene glycol base coolant for aluminium radiator'. Capacity varies by engine/gearbox.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 4 · SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4 (later handbooks)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbooks up to c.2020 (cee'd JD, Ceed CD 19MY, Rio YB, Stonic, Carens RP, Soul PS/SK3, Sorento UM, Niro DE) state 'FMVSS116 DOT-3 or DOT-4'; Ceed CD 2021+, Picanto JA 2022, Sportage NQ5, Niro SG2 and EV6 state SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4; Sorento MQ4 states 'DOT 4'. DOT 4 satisfies every edition.
Fitted to: Picanto, Rio, Stonic, Venga
1.4 T-GDi (Kappa) · 2018–2022
- Engine oil
- C2 · API SN · 0W-30(2018–2020 · Ceed / ProCeed / XCeed (CD, 19MY))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Europe: 'API SN, ACEA C2' (ACEA A5/B5 for India/Middle East/N. Africa/C&S America). Chart for Kappa 1.0/1.4 T-GDI: 0W-30, 5W-30 for all countries.
- Oil capacity
- 4.2 litres(Ceed (CD))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter.
- Coolant
- Kia phosphate-based ethylene-glycol coolant for aluminium radiators, mixed with (distilled) water
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook wording: 'Mixture of antifreeze and (distilled) water (Ethylene-glycol with phosphate based coolant for cooling device / aluminium radiator)'. Some editions (Rio YB, Stonic, Picanto JA, Carens RP, Sorento UM/MQ4) say only 'ethylene glycol base coolant for aluminium radiator'. Capacity varies by engine/gearbox.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 4 · SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4 (later handbooks)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbooks up to c.2020 (cee'd JD, Ceed CD 19MY, Rio YB, Stonic, Carens RP, Soul PS/SK3, Sorento UM, Niro DE) state 'FMVSS116 DOT-3 or DOT-4'; Ceed CD 2021+, Picanto JA 2022, Sportage NQ5, Niro SG2 and EV6 state SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4; Sorento MQ4 states 'DOT 4'. DOT 4 satisfies every edition.
Fitted to: Ceed, ProCeed, XCeed, Stonic
1.5 T-GDi (Smartstream G1.5 T-GDi) · 2020–2026
- Engine oil
- API SN PLUS / SP or ILSAC GF-6 · 0W-20(2021 on · Ceed / ProCeed / XCeed (CD facelift) incl. MHEV)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Full synthetic required (Middle East: SAE 5W-30, ACEA A5/B5).
- Oil capacity
- 4.2 litres(Ceed (CD))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter.
- Coolant
- Kia phosphate-based ethylene-glycol coolant for aluminium radiators, mixed with (distilled) water
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook wording: 'Mixture of antifreeze and (distilled) water (Ethylene-glycol with phosphate based coolant for cooling device / aluminium radiator)'. Some editions (Rio YB, Stonic, Picanto JA, Carens RP, Sorento UM/MQ4) say only 'ethylene glycol base coolant for aluminium radiator'. Capacity varies by engine/gearbox.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 4 · SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4 (later handbooks)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbooks up to c.2020 (cee'd JD, Ceed CD 19MY, Rio YB, Stonic, Carens RP, Soul PS/SK3, Sorento UM, Niro DE) state 'FMVSS116 DOT-3 or DOT-4'; Ceed CD 2021+, Picanto JA 2022, Sportage NQ5, Niro SG2 and EV6 state SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4; Sorento MQ4 states 'DOT 4'. DOT 4 satisfies every edition.
Fitted to: Ceed, ProCeed, XCeed, Sportage
1.6 CRDi (Smartstream D1.6) · 2018–2024
- Engine oil
- C5 / C2 / C3 · 0W-20(2018–2024 · Ceed / ProCeed / XCeed (CD) incl. MHEV, Optima (JF), Stonic)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Every Kia table: 'ACEA C5 or C2 or C3'. Charts: 0W-20, 0W-30, 5W-30/40 (and 10W-30/40) by temperature.
- Oil capacity
- 4.4 litres
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter. 4.4 l in the Ceed CD (19MY and 2021-22), Optima JF and Stonic handbooks.
- Coolant
- Kia phosphate-based ethylene-glycol coolant for aluminium radiators, mixed with (distilled) water
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook wording: 'Mixture of antifreeze and (distilled) water (Ethylene-glycol with phosphate based coolant for cooling device / aluminium radiator)'. Some editions (Rio YB, Stonic, Picanto JA, Carens RP, Sorento UM/MQ4) say only 'ethylene glycol base coolant for aluminium radiator'. Capacity varies by engine/gearbox.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 4 · SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4 (later handbooks)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbooks up to c.2020 (cee'd JD, Ceed CD 19MY, Rio YB, Stonic, Carens RP, Soul PS/SK3, Sorento UM, Niro DE) state 'FMVSS116 DOT-3 or DOT-4'; Ceed CD 2021+, Picanto JA 2022, Sportage NQ5, Niro SG2 and EV6 state SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4; Sorento MQ4 states 'DOT 4'. DOT 4 satisfies every edition.
Fitted to: Ceed, ProCeed, XCeed, Sportage, Stonic, Optima
1.6 CRDi (U-II) · 2008–2018
- Engine oil
- C2 · 0W-30(2012–2018 · cee'd (JD) U II 1.6 VGT (and 1.4 WGT))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- With DPF: 'ACEA C2 / 0W-30'; without DPF: 'ACEA B4 / 5W-30'. Diesel chart: 0W-30, 5W-30, 10W-30, 15W-40 by temperature.
- Engine oil
- C3/C2(2014–2019 · Soul (PS) diesel)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- With DPF: ACEA C3 or C2; without DPF: ACEA B4.
- Oil capacity
- 5.3 litres
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter. 5.3 l in both cee'd JD and Soul PS handbooks.
- Coolant
- Kia phosphate-based ethylene-glycol coolant for aluminium radiators, mixed with (distilled) water
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook wording: 'Mixture of antifreeze and (distilled) water (Ethylene-glycol with phosphate based coolant for cooling device / aluminium radiator)'. Some editions (Rio YB, Stonic, Picanto JA, Carens RP, Sorento UM/MQ4) say only 'ethylene glycol base coolant for aluminium radiator'. Capacity varies by engine/gearbox.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 4 · SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4 (later handbooks)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbooks up to c.2020 (cee'd JD, Ceed CD 19MY, Rio YB, Stonic, Carens RP, Soul PS/SK3, Sorento UM, Niro DE) state 'FMVSS116 DOT-3 or DOT-4'; Ceed CD 2021+, Picanto JA 2022, Sportage NQ5, Niro SG2 and EV6 state SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4; Sorento MQ4 states 'DOT 4'. DOT 4 satisfies every edition.
Fitted to: Ceed, ProCeed, Sportage, Venga, Soul, Carens, Cerato, Stonic
1.6 GDi (Gamma II) · 2011–2021
- Engine oil
- A5 · 5W-30(2012–2019 · cee'd (JD), Soul (PS), Carens (RP))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- cee'd JD: 'ACEA A5 or above / 5W-30'. Soul PS: 'GDI engine … ACEA A5 or above'. Carens RP: 'For Europe GDI: ACEA A5'. cee'd JD chart (Europe MPI/GDI): 0W-40, 5W-20, 5W-30, 5W-40 — 5W-20 only with a shortened 10,000 km / 6-month oil-change interval on the GDI.
- Oil capacity
- 3.6 litres
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter. 3.6 l in the cee'd JD, Soul PS and Carens RP handbooks.
- Coolant
- Kia phosphate-based ethylene-glycol coolant for aluminium radiators, mixed with (distilled) water
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook wording: 'Mixture of antifreeze and (distilled) water (Ethylene-glycol with phosphate based coolant for cooling device / aluminium radiator)'. Some editions (Rio YB, Stonic, Picanto JA, Carens RP, Sorento UM/MQ4) say only 'ethylene glycol base coolant for aluminium radiator'. Capacity varies by engine/gearbox.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 4 · SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4 (later handbooks)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbooks up to c.2020 (cee'd JD, Ceed CD 19MY, Rio YB, Stonic, Carens RP, Soul PS/SK3, Sorento UM, Niro DE) state 'FMVSS116 DOT-3 or DOT-4'; Ceed CD 2021+, Picanto JA 2022, Sportage NQ5, Niro SG2 and EV6 state SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4; Sorento MQ4 states 'DOT 4'. DOT 4 satisfies every edition.
Fitted to: Ceed, ProCeed, Sportage, Soul, Rio, Venga, Optima
1.6 GDi hybrid / plug-in hybrid (Kappa 1.6 GDi HEV) · 2016–2026
- Engine oil
- A5/B5 · API Latest(2016–2022 · Niro (DE) HEV / PHEV)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Table: 'API Latest or ACEA A5/B5'.
- Engine oil
- A5/B5 · 5W-30(2022 on · Niro (SG2) HEV / PHEV)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Table: 'SAE 5W-30, ACEA A5/B5'; viscosity chart 5W-30.
- Oil capacity
- 3.8 litres
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter. 3.8 l in both Niro DE and Niro SG2 handbooks.
- Coolant
- Phosphate-based ethylene-glycol coolant (separate engine and inverter circuits)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Niro DE: engine 5.98 l + inverter 2.43 l (ethylene glycol base). Niro SG2: engine 6.7 l; inverter coolant 'contact an authorised Kia dealer'.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 4 · SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4 (later handbooks)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbooks up to c.2020 (cee'd JD, Ceed CD 19MY, Rio YB, Stonic, Carens RP, Soul PS/SK3, Sorento UM, Niro DE) state 'FMVSS116 DOT-3 or DOT-4'; Ceed CD 2021+, Picanto JA 2022, Sportage NQ5, Niro SG2 and EV6 state SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4; Sorento MQ4 states 'DOT 4'. DOT 4 satisfies every edition.
Fitted to: Niro HEV, Niro PHEV, XCeed PHEV, Ceed Sportswagon PHEV
1.6 T-GDi (Gamma II) · 2013–2022
- Engine oil
- A5/B5 · 5W-30(2013–2022 · cee'd GT / pro_cee'd GT (JD), Ceed GT / ProCeed GT (CD), Optima (JF), Soul (PS))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- cee'd JD and Optima JF: Europe 'ACEA A5 or above / 5W-30' (5W-40 outside Europe). Ceed CD 19MY: ACEA A5/B5. Ceed CD 2021-22: 'SAE 5W30, ACEA A5/B5' full synthetic. Soul PS: ACEA A5 or above.
- Engine oil
- C2/C5(2019–2020 · Soul (SK3) petrol, Europe with GPF)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Soul SK3 handbook: 'Europe with GPF: ACEA C2/C5; Except Europe: ACEA A5/B5'. Viscosity not stated in the table.
- Oil capacity
- 4.5 litres(cee'd JD, Ceed CD 19MY, Optima JF, Soul PS/SK3)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter.
- Oil capacity
- 4 litres(Ceed CD (2021-22 MY))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter. The 2021-22 Ceed CD web manual gives 4.0 L where the 19MY Ceed CD book gave 4.5 l — check the dipstick.
- Coolant
- Kia phosphate-based ethylene-glycol coolant for aluminium radiators, mixed with (distilled) water
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook wording: 'Mixture of antifreeze and (distilled) water (Ethylene-glycol with phosphate based coolant for cooling device / aluminium radiator)'. Some editions (Rio YB, Stonic, Picanto JA, Carens RP, Sorento UM/MQ4) say only 'ethylene glycol base coolant for aluminium radiator'. Capacity varies by engine/gearbox.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 4 · SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4 (later handbooks)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbooks up to c.2020 (cee'd JD, Ceed CD 19MY, Rio YB, Stonic, Carens RP, Soul PS/SK3, Sorento UM, Niro DE) state 'FMVSS116 DOT-3 or DOT-4'; Ceed CD 2021+, Picanto JA 2022, Sportage NQ5, Niro SG2 and EV6 state SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4; Sorento MQ4 states 'DOT 4'. DOT 4 satisfies every edition.
Fitted to: Ceed GT, ProCeed GT, Sportage (QL), Soul, Optima
1.6 T-GDi (Smartstream G1.6 T-GDi) · 2021–2026
- Engine oil
- API SN PLUS / SP or ILSAC GF-6 · 0W-20(2022 on · Sportage (NQ5))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Full synthetic required (Middle East/N. Africa: SAE 5W-30, ACEA A5/B5).
- Oil capacity
- 4.8 litres(Sportage (NQ5))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter.
- Coolant
- Kia phosphate-based ethylene-glycol coolant for aluminium radiators, mixed with (distilled) water
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook wording: 'Mixture of antifreeze and (distilled) water (Ethylene-glycol with phosphate based coolant for cooling device / aluminium radiator)'. Some editions (Rio YB, Stonic, Picanto JA, Carens RP, Sorento UM/MQ4) say only 'ethylene glycol base coolant for aluminium radiator'. Capacity varies by engine/gearbox.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 4 · SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4 (later handbooks)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbooks up to c.2020 (cee'd JD, Ceed CD 19MY, Rio YB, Stonic, Carens RP, Soul PS/SK3, Sorento UM, Niro DE) state 'FMVSS116 DOT-3 or DOT-4'; Ceed CD 2021+, Picanto JA 2022, Sportage NQ5, Niro SG2 and EV6 state SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4; Sorento MQ4 states 'DOT 4'. DOT 4 satisfies every edition.
Fitted to: Sportage (NQ5), Sorento, Ceed
1.7 CRDi (U-II, D4FD) — Sportage, Carens, Optima — timing chain · 2010–2022
- Engine oil
- C2/C3(2012–2019 · Optima (JF), Carens (RP))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Optima JF: with DPF 'ACEA C2 or C3', without DPF 'ACEA C3 or C2 or A3/B4'. Carens RP: 'ACEA C2 or C3'. Viscosity charts are images and were not read.
- Oil capacity
- 5.3 litres
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter. 5.3 l in both Optima JF and Carens RP handbooks.
- Coolant
- Kia phosphate-based ethylene-glycol coolant for aluminium radiators, mixed with (distilled) water
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook wording: 'Mixture of antifreeze and (distilled) water (Ethylene-glycol with phosphate based coolant for cooling device / aluminium radiator)'. Some editions (Rio YB, Stonic, Picanto JA, Carens RP, Sorento UM/MQ4) say only 'ethylene glycol base coolant for aluminium radiator'. Capacity varies by engine/gearbox.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 4 · SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4 (later handbooks)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbooks up to c.2020 (cee'd JD, Ceed CD 19MY, Rio YB, Stonic, Carens RP, Soul PS/SK3, Sorento UM, Niro DE) state 'FMVSS116 DOT-3 or DOT-4'; Ceed CD 2021+, Picanto JA 2022, Sportage NQ5, Niro SG2 and EV6 state SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4; Sorento MQ4 states 'DOT 4'. DOT 4 satisfies every edition.
Fitted to: Sportage III (SL) 1.7 CRDi (2010-2015), Sportage IV (QL) 1.7 CRDi (2015-), Carens IV 1.7 CRDi (2013-), Optima 1.7 CRDi (2012-)
2.0 CRDi (R-family, D4HA) · 2009–2022
- Engine oil
- C3/C2(2015–2021 · Sportage (QL), Sorento (UM))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- With DPF: 'ACEA C3 or C2'; without DPF: 'ACEA A3 or B4' (QL) / 'ACEA A3/B4' (UM). Viscosity charts in these books are images and were not read.
- Oil capacity
- 7.6 litres(Sportage (QL) 2.0 TCI)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter.
- Oil capacity
- 6.5 litres(Sorento (UM))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter. Sorento UM row covers R2.0 and R2.2 together.
- Coolant
- Kia phosphate-based ethylene-glycol coolant for aluminium radiators, mixed with (distilled) water
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook wording: 'Mixture of antifreeze and (distilled) water (Ethylene-glycol with phosphate based coolant for cooling device / aluminium radiator)'. Some editions (Rio YB, Stonic, Picanto JA, Carens RP, Sorento UM/MQ4) say only 'ethylene glycol base coolant for aluminium radiator'. Capacity varies by engine/gearbox.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 4 · SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4 (later handbooks)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbooks up to c.2020 (cee'd JD, Ceed CD 19MY, Rio YB, Stonic, Carens RP, Soul PS/SK3, Sorento UM, Niro DE) state 'FMVSS116 DOT-3 or DOT-4'; Ceed CD 2021+, Picanto JA 2022, Sportage NQ5, Niro SG2 and EV6 state SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4; Sorento MQ4 states 'DOT 4'. DOT 4 satisfies every edition.
Fitted to: Sportage, Sorento, Carens, Optima
2.2 CRDi (R-family, D4HB) · 2009–2020
- Engine oil
- C3/C2(2015–2020 · Sorento (UM))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- With DPF: ACEA C3 or C2; without DPF: ACEA A3/B4. Viscosity chart is an image and was not read.
- Oil capacity
- 6.5 litres(Sorento (UM))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter.
- Coolant
- Kia phosphate-based ethylene-glycol coolant for aluminium radiators, mixed with (distilled) water
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook wording: 'Mixture of antifreeze and (distilled) water (Ethylene-glycol with phosphate based coolant for cooling device / aluminium radiator)'. Some editions (Rio YB, Stonic, Picanto JA, Carens RP, Sorento UM/MQ4) say only 'ethylene glycol base coolant for aluminium radiator'. Capacity varies by engine/gearbox.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 4 · SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4 (later handbooks)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbooks up to c.2020 (cee'd JD, Ceed CD 19MY, Rio YB, Stonic, Carens RP, Soul PS/SK3, Sorento UM, Niro DE) state 'FMVSS116 DOT-3 or DOT-4'; Ceed CD 2021+, Picanto JA 2022, Sportage NQ5, Niro SG2 and EV6 state SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4; Sorento MQ4 states 'DOT 4'. DOT 4 satisfies every edition.
Fitted to: Sorento XM (2009-2015), Sorento UM (2015-2020)
2.2 CRDi (Smartstream D2.2, 2,151 cc) - timing belt · 2020 on
- Engine oil
- C5 / C2 / C3(2020 on · Sorento (MQ4))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Table: 'ACEA C5, C2 or C3 (Refer to Recommended SAE viscosity number)'. The viscosity chart is an image that could not be retrieved, so no grade is recorded.
- Oil capacity
- 5.6 litres(Sorento (MQ4))
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook figure 'Engine oil (drain and refill)'; the handbook does not say whether it includes the filter.
- Coolant
- Kia phosphate-based ethylene-glycol coolant for aluminium radiators, mixed with (distilled) water
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbook wording: 'Mixture of antifreeze and (distilled) water (Ethylene-glycol with phosphate based coolant for cooling device / aluminium radiator)'. Some editions (Rio YB, Stonic, Picanto JA, Carens RP, Sorento UM/MQ4) say only 'ethylene glycol base coolant for aluminium radiator'. Capacity varies by engine/gearbox.
- Brake fluid
- DOT 4 · SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4 (later handbooks)
- Manufacturer-publishedSource
- Handbooks up to c.2020 (cee'd JD, Ceed CD 19MY, Rio YB, Stonic, Carens RP, Soul PS/SK3, Sorento UM, Niro DE) state 'FMVSS116 DOT-3 or DOT-4'; Ceed CD 2021+, Picanto JA 2022, Sportage NQ5, Niro SG2 and EV6 state SAE J1704 DOT-4 LV / ISO 4925 Class-6 / FMVSS 116 DOT-4; Sorento MQ4 states 'DOT 4'. DOT 4 satisfies every edition.
Fitted to: Sorento MQ4 (2020-)
Manufacturer-published figures link to the maker's document. "Reported" figures come from a franchised dealer or a parts catalogue and have not been confirmed by the maker. Nothing here has been checked against your car — confirm with the handbook or a franchised dealer quoting the VIN.
Common questions
What oil does a Kia take?
It depends on the engine. Across the 15 Kia engines we hold, the approvals named are C5, A5, A5/B5, C2, C5 / C2 / C3, C3/C2 and others, mostly in 0W-20, 5W-30, 0W-30. Find your engine above, or enter your registration for the exact match.
How much oil does a Kia take?
It depends on the engine; the figures we hold are listed above with their sources. The owner's handbook gives the oil-change capacity.
Where is the oil specification in a Kia handbook?
Usually in the "Technical data", "Capacities and specifications" or "Engine oil" section near the back, which names the approval code and viscosity, and the oil-change capacity with filter. The figures above link to the handbooks we found them in.
Oil specification and capacity by make
- Alfa Romeo oil type and capacity
- Audi oil type and capacity
- Bentley oil type and capacity
- Citroën oil type and capacity
- Cupra oil type and capacity
- DS oil type and capacity
- Fiat oil type and capacity
- Ford oil type and capacity
- Honda oil type and capacity
- Hyundai oil type and capacity
- Jaguar oil type and capacity
- Jeep oil type and capacity
- Land Rover oil type and capacity
- Lexus oil type and capacity
- Mazda oil type and capacity
- Mercedes-Benz oil type and capacity
- MG oil type and capacity
- Nissan oil type and capacity
- Peugeot oil type and capacity
- Porsche oil type and capacity
- SEAT oil type and capacity
- Skoda oil type and capacity
- Subaru oil type and capacity
- Suzuki oil type and capacity
- Toyota oil type and capacity
- Vauxhall oil type and capacity
- Volkswagen oil type and capacity
- Volvo oil type and capacity
- All makes — what oil does my car need?
- Service schedule by reg
- What should my tyre pressure be?