MG Service History
Limited CoverageMG is a British marque owned by SAIC Motor, relaunched in the UK as a volume brand built around value petrol models and a fast-growing EV range. Digital service record availability through our lookup is currently limited.
Coverage last reviewed: June 2026
Coverage Level
Data is returned in a minimal proportion of cases. Results depend on individual vehicle records and manufacturer system availability.
If no records are found, your card is not charged — the authorisation is cancelled, no payment is taken.
Service Intervals
MG's rule is a service every 12 months or 15,000 miles, whichever comes first, and it applies to petrol, hybrid and electric models alike. There are exceptions — the 2016-2018 MG3 with stop/start was on 10,000 miles — so check the schedule for the specific model and year.
Intervals vary by engine, model year and schedule type — check the car's own handbook or service plan for the figure that applies to it.
What's Included
- ✓Service dates & mileage
- ✓Work performed at each visit
- ✓Official dealership records
- ✓Full MOT history
- ✓Digital report with PDF export
MG service intervals by engine
MG sets its schedule per engine, not per badge, so the figures below are broken out by engine family — 19 of them — with the timing drive, oil, brake fluid and the rest of the items each one schedules. Some are group engines sold under more than one marque, and those say so. Where a line says manufacturer-published, it links to the document it came from.
1.0T GDI (G10DT, three-cylinder)
1.0-litre · petrol · 2017–2022
Fitted to: ZS
Timing chain
No scheduled replacement
Chain, no scheduled replacement published. CAMSHAFT TEST: the MG Owners' Club technical spec for the ZS 1.0 Auto reads '3 cylinders 999cc 12 valves, chain driven twin overhead camshafts Turbocharged with direct fuel injection 111PS' - it names the camshaft drive directly (S13). CONTROL: nine stocked chain parts against engine code G10DT and no cam-belt kit for the code (S20).
- Engine oil & filter
- Every 12 months or 15,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- 6-speed dual-clutch (DCT)Every 3 years or 45,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 5 years / 75,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Spark plugs
- Every 3 years or 45,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Diesel fuel filter
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
1.5 GDI (GS62 family)
1.5-litre · petrol · 2024–2026
Fitted to: MG3, ZS
Timing chain
No scheduled replacement
Chain, no scheduled replacement published. CAMSHAFT TEST from the manufacturer: SAIC's own MG3 / MG3 Hybrid+ service manual gives, in its GS62 1.5L Cylinder Head and Valve table, 'Camshaft: ... Drive: Chain drive at crankshaft gear' (S18). The same chapter also documents a SEPARATE oil-pump chain, so a chain kit alone would not have settled this - the cylinder-head table does. No aftermarket cam-belt kit exists for the 2024-on MG3 or ZS in the UK catalogues checked.
- Engine oil & filter
- Every 12 months or 15,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Manual gearboxNo scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
- Automatic (ZS 2024-on)Every 4 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 5 years / 75,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Spark plugs
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Diesel fuel filter
- Every 4 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
1.5 Hybrid+ (GS62H, Atkinson cycle)
1.5-litre · petrol · hybrid · 2024–2026
Fitted to: MG3 Hybrid+, ZS Hybrid+
Timing chain
No scheduled replacement
Chain, no scheduled replacement published. CAMSHAFT TEST from the manufacturer: SAIC's own MG3 / MG3 Hybrid+ service manual, chapter 'Engine Mechanical GS62H', Cylinder Head and Valve table, row 'Camshaft: ... Drive' = 'Chain drive at crankshaft gear' (S18). The same chapter carries torque figures for the timing chain tensioner and both guide rails, AND for an 'Oil Chain Cover' - i.e. there is a second, oil-pump chain, which is exactly the trap a bare kit listing would have set. CONTROL could not be run: no aftermarket parts of either kind are catalogued against GS62H yet (S22).
- Engine oil & filter
- Every 12 months or 15,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Hybrid transmission (ZS Hybrid+)Every 4 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 5 years / 75,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Spark plugs
- Every 3 years or 45,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Diesel fuel filter
- Every 4 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
1.5 VTi-TECH (15S4C)
1.5-litre · petrol · 2017–2024
Fitted to: MG3, ZS
Timing chain
No scheduled replacement
Chain, with no scheduled replacement interval published by MG. Both tests applied. CONTROL: nine stocked timing-chain parts are catalogued against engine code 15S4C and no cam-belt kit exists for the same code (S9 vs S10). CAMSHAFT TEST: the MG Owners' Club technical spec for the ZS 1.5 reads '1498cc 16 valves, chain driven twin overhead camshafts' (S13) - the chain drives the cams, it is not an ancillary. Note that MG's related GS62 engine also runs a separate oil-pump chain (S18), so a second chain in a kit listing is not evidence of a second cam drive. Interference status not stated by any source found.
- Engine oil & filter
- Every 12 months or 15,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Manual gearboxNo scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
- Automatic (ZS 1.5 auto)Every 3 years or 45,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 5 years / 75,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Spark plugs
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Diesel fuel filter
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
1.5 VTi-TECH (15S4U)
1.5-litre · petrol · 2013–2018
Fitted to: MG3
Timing chain
No scheduled replacement
Chain, no scheduled replacement published. CONTROL: sixteen stocked timing-chain parts are catalogued against engine code 15S4U and no cam-belt kit exists for the code (S11 vs S12). The 15S4U is the pre-2018 version of the same 1,498 cc MG unit as the 15S4C, whose camshaft drive the MG Owners' Club describes as chain driven (S13).
- Engine oil & filter
- Standard (MG3 2013-2016)Every 12 months or 15,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- MG3 Stop/Start, 16MY (2016-2018)Every 12 months or 10,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Manual gearboxNo scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 4 years / 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Spark plugs
- Every 4 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Diesel fuel filter
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
1.5T (15FDE / GS61, second generation)
1.5-litre · petrol · 2024–2026
Fitted to: HS
Timing chain
No scheduled replacement
UNCONFIRMED - inferred, not stated. The control test CANNOT be run on this engine: the aftermarket carries no parts of either kind for the 15FDE yet, so both the timing-chain and the timing-belt-kit fitments come back empty (S21). The inference is from MG's own MG HS (2024 onwards) schedule, which lists an 'Aux belt' row at the 3rd service and no cam-belt row, and from the fact that MG does print a separate 'Cam belt' row where one exists (MG6 Petrol 2011-2014 on S1). Its limit is that MG's grid stops at 5 years/75,000 miles, so a cam belt with a longer interval would not appear. Treat as reported until a parts catalogue or a workshop source can be checked.
- Engine oil & filter
- Every 12 months or 15,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Manual gearboxEvery 4 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- 7-speed wet dual-clutch (DCT)Every 4 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 5 years / 75,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Spark plugs
- Every 3 years or 45,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Diesel fuel filter
- Every 4 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
1.5T GDI (15E4E, first generation)
1.5-litre · petrol · 2016–2024
Fitted to: HS, GS
Timing chain
No scheduled replacement
Chain, no scheduled replacement published. CONTROL TEST: seven stocked timing-chain parts are catalogued against engine code 15E4E (FEBI BILSTEIN 106617, a 178-link silent chain, plus BGA, SWAG, AUTOKIT and HERTH+BUSS), while the timing-belt-kit fitment for the identical vehicle record returns a 'currently sold out' placeholder with no belt product for the code at all (S7 vs S8). MG's own schedules reinforce it: the HS lists an 'Aux belt' row for the auxiliary drive and no cam-belt row, and MG demonstrably does print a 'Cam belt' row where one exists - see its MG6 Petrol (2011-2014) schedule on S1, which lists Aux belt and Cam belt as two separate rows.
- Engine oil & filter
- Every 12 months or 15,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Manual gearboxNo scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
- 7-speed dual-clutch (DCT)Every 3 years or 45,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 5 years / 75,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Spark plugs
- Every 3 years or 45,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
1.5T Plug-in Hybrid (15E4E + EDU, first generation)
1.5-litre · petrol · hybrid · 2020–2024
Fitted to: HS Plug-in Hybrid, EHS
Timing chain
No scheduled replacement
Chain. Same 15E4E engine code as the petrol HS, for which the control test found stocked chain parts and no cam-belt kit for the code (S7 vs S8); the catalogue carries the 258 hp and 284 hp PHEVs as their own vehicle records under that same code.
- Engine oil & filter
- Every 12 months or 15,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- EDU hybrid transmissionEvery 3 years or 45,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 5 years / 75,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Spark plugs
- Every 3 years or 45,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
1.5T Plug-in Hybrid (GS61H, second generation)
1.5-litre · petrol · hybrid · 2024–2026
Fitted to: HS Plug-in Hybrid
Timing chain
No scheduled replacement
UNCONFIRMED - inferred, not stated, exactly as for the second-generation petrol 1.5T. No aftermarket parts of either kind exist for GS61/GS61H, so the control test cannot be run; the inference is from MG's own MG HS Plug-in Hybrid (2024 onwards) schedule carrying no cam-belt row, and from MG printing a 'Cam belt' row where one exists (MG6 Petrol 2011-2014, S1). Its limit: MG's grid stops at 5 years/75,000 miles.
- Engine oil & filter
- Every 12 months or 15,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Hybrid transmissionEvery 4 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 5 years / 75,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Spark plugs
- Every 3 years or 45,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Diesel fuel filter
- Every 4 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
1.8 K-series 16v petrol — MG TF (VVC adds a second, rear camshaft belt)
1.8-litre · petrol · 2002–2011
Fitted to: MG TF 115 / 120 / 135 / 160 VVC (2002-2005), MG TF / TF LE500 / TF 135 built by NAC MG (2008-2011) — schedule not verified, see note
Timing belt (cambelt)
Replace every 4 years or 60,000 miles
MG Rover's own MG TF check sheet (RCL 0571 07/2003): 'Replace camshaft drive belt - Every 60,000 miles or 4 years, whichever is the sooner' (H-S2) — a shorter interval than the 90,000 miles / 6 years MG Rover gave the same 1.8 K-series in the Rover 75 / MG ZT (H-S1), so the figure is model-specific and must not be spread across the engine family. Belt-not-chain is settled by the existing rover.json catalogue evidence. CAVEAT: the sheet is MG Rover's (2003); the TF built by NAC MG from 2008 used the 1.8 K-series too, but no NAC/MG Motor schedule was found — the 2003 figure is carried for those cars on the reasoning that it is the manufacturer figure for this engine in this car, and that is a judgement, not a sourced fact.
Also has a second drive
Timing belt (cambelt) — Replace every 4 years or 60,000 miles
VVC ONLY (TF 160): 'Replace rear camshaft drive belt VVC only - Every 60,000 miles or 4 years, whichever is the sooner' (H-S2). Non-VVC TFs (115/120/135) have the front belt only. This answers the open question in rover.json about whether the VVC carries a second belt.
- Engine oil & filter
- Every 12 months or 15,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Manual gearboxEvery 7 years or 105,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Automatic (MG TF, where fitted)Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 4 years / 60,000 miles, then every 4 years / 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Spark plugs
- Every 4 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Diesel fuel filter
- Every 4 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
1.8 K-series 16v petrol — Rover 75 / MG ZT (incl. 1.8 Turbo)
1.8-litre · petrol · 1999–2005
Fitted to: Rover 75 1.8 and 1.8 Turbo (1999-2005), MG ZT / ZT-T 1.8T (2001-2005)
Timing belt (cambelt)
Replace every 6 years or 90,000 miles
MG Rover's own Rover 75 / MG ZT-ZTT check sheet (RCL 0566ENG 9/2004): 'Replace camshaft drive belt - Every 90,000 miles or 6 years, whichever is the sooner - (Petrol only)' (H-S1). The sheet covers '4 and 6 cylinder models', so it applies to the 1.8 / 1.8T K-series (and the KV6, not this entry). Belt-not-chain is already settled for this engine by the existing rover.json evidence (F-S21/F-S22: belt kits listed, chain kit 'not available'). This is a 2004 schedule; an earlier 75 may have been sold on a different figure, but a current schedule governs the car from then on. Interference status not stated in any source read.
- Engine oil & filter
- Every 12 months or 15,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Manual gearboxEvery 7 years or 105,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Automatic (Rover 75 / MG ZT, where fitted)Every 4 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 4 years / 60,000 miles, then every 4 years / 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Spark plugs
- Every 4 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
1.8 K-series 16v petrol (Rover 75, MGF, Freelander)
1.8-litre · petrol · 1995–2006
Fitted to: Rover 75 1.8 (1999-2005), MG MGF 1.8i VVC (1995-2002), Land Rover Freelander 1.8 16V (1998-2006)
Timing belt (cambelt)
Interval not confirmed — check the handbook
BELT. Opposite-kit test, run on all three badges: AUTODOC lists 45-93 timing BELT kits for the Rover 75 1.8 (F-S21), the MGF 1.8i VVC (F-S23) and the Freelander 1.8 16V (F-S26) — the same 143/145-tooth kits across all three (RIDEX 307T0428, DAYCO KTB406, GATES K015497XS, INA 530 0376 10) — while the timing CHAIN kit page for each carries the 'not available' banner (F-S22, F-S24, F-S27). Camshaft test: MG Rover's own check sheets name the part 'camshaft drive belt' (H-S1, H-S2), and the MG TF sheet adds a 'rear camshaft drive belt VVC only' — so the VVC (MGF 1.8i VVC, MG TF 160, MG ZR 160) has a SECOND, rear camshaft belt. NO interval in THIS entry, deliberately: MG Rover published DIFFERENT intervals for the same engine by model — 90,000 miles / 6 years in the Rover 75 / MG ZT (H-S1) and 60,000 miles / 4 years in the MG TF (H-S2), while Land Rover's Freelander figure is reported as 72,000 miles / 6 years (H-S3) — so the Rover 75/ZT, MG TF and Freelander now have their own entries and this one covers what is left (MGF, Rover 25/45, MG ZR/ZS, Rover 200/400) for which no schedule was found. Do not fill it from one of the others. Engine codes as AUTODOC prints them: '18 K4F' (Rover 75 1.8, Freelander 1.8) and '18 K4K' (its label for the MGF 1.8i VVC). Interference status unknown.
1.8 Turbo petrol (MG6, revised K-series)
1.8-litre · petrol · 2011–2014
Fitted to: MG6 GT, MG6 Magnette
Timing belt (cambelt)
Replace every 5 years or 75,000 miles
THE ONLY CAM BELT IN THE ENTIRE MG UK SCHEDULE SET. MG's MG6 Petrol (2011-2014) table lists 'Aux belt' and 'Cam belt' as two SEPARATE rows, both ticked in the 5th column - 60 months or 75,000 miles. Independently corroborated by the MG Car Club buyers guide: 'Cambelts on the petrol should be changed every five years, or 75,000 miles, whichever comes first' (S19). This pair matters beyond the MG6 itself: it proves MG prints a cam-belt row when one exists, which is what makes the absence of that row on every later MG meaningful. The engine is described by the MG Car Club as 'essentially a revised K-series' 1.8 turbo, 1796 cc, 157-158 bhp. Interference status not stated by any source found.
- Engine oil & filter
- Every 12 months or 15,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Manual gearboxNo scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 4 years / 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Spark plugs
- Every 4 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Diesel fuel filter
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
1.9 DTi turbo diesel (MG6)
1.8-litre · diesel · 2012–2016
Fitted to: MG6 GT, MG6 Magnette
Timing chain
No scheduled replacement
Chain, no scheduled replacement published. Two lines of evidence, and note the contrast with the MG6 petrol sitting in the same car. MG's MG6 Diesel (2012-2016) schedule lists an 'Aux belt' row at the 5th service and NO cam-belt row, where the petrol schedule lists both. The MG Car Club buyers guide names the drive directly: 'If it's a diesel you're viewing, listen for a rattle from cold - this could indicate a faulty timing chain tensioner, something MG will tackle under warranty' (S19).
- Engine oil & filter
- Every 12 months or 15,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Manual gearboxNo scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 4 years / 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Diesel fuel filter
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
MG Cyberster (electric)
electric · 2024–2026
Fitted to: Cyberster
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Single-speed reduction gearboxEvery 4 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 5 years / 75,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
MG ZS EV (electric)
electric · 2019–2025
Fitted to: ZS EV
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Single-speed reduction gearboxNo scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 5 years / 75,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
MG4 EV (electric)
electric · 2022–2026
Fitted to: MG4 EV, MG4 EV XPOWER, MG4 EV Urban
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Single-speed reduction gearboxEvery 4 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 5 years / 75,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
MG5 EV (electric)
electric · 2020–2025
Fitted to: MG5 EV
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Single-speed reduction gearboxNo scheduled changeManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 5 years / 75,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
MGS5 EV (electric)
electric · 2025–2026
Fitted to: MGS5 EV
- Brake fluid
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Gearbox oil
- Single-speed reduction gearboxEvery 4 years or 60,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Coolant / antifreeze
- First at 5 years / 75,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
- Pollen / cabin filter
- Every 2 years or 30,000 milesManufacturer-publishedSource
Every figure above is labelled with how firm it is, and manufacturer-published lines link to the document they came from. Intervals are set per engine and model year, and nobody has checked these against your individual car — treat them as a starting point and confirm against the handbook, the service plan, or a franchised dealer quoting the VIN before booking or skipping work.
How MG records service data
MG's UK network is run by SAIC Motor UK through its franchised dealers, which hold service records against the VIN. Those records are not currently reaching us in any volume: across 34 UK MG lookups in our two-year research sample, none returned a service event. We treat that as a feed that is not established rather than as evidence about how MGs are maintained — the brand's UK volume is recent and heavily weighted to cars still inside their first owner's warranty period.
MG models we cover
UK MG models that may appear if coverage develops: MG3, MG4 EV, MG5 EV, ZS and ZS EV, HS and HS Plug-in, MG7, Cyberster, plus the earlier MG6 and MG GS. Note that pre-2005 MG Rover-era cars (MGF, TF, ZR, ZS, ZT) are a different company entirely and have no connection to the SAIC dealer system.
MG-specific things to know
Two things to know before checking an MG. First, the marque has two unrelated histories: SAIC-era cars from 2011 onwards are the ones with any prospect of a digital record, while MG Rover-era cars built up to 2005 have none, because the company that serviced them no longer exists. Second, a large share of UK MGs are recent EVs still on their original warranty, so their service history is short by definition — two or three visits at most — and its absence says far less about the car than it would on a ten-year-old vehicle.
Why check MG service history before buying
For an SAIC-era MG the mileage trail is often more informative than the dealer service log: on a young, high-mileage EV or a value petrol model, a consistent odometer record is the evidence most buyers actually need. On UK cars that trail comes from the MOT history, with advisories and pass/fail results for every test, and it is included free with every check.
Common MG problems and recalls
Recalls, faults MG has acknowledged and problems the motoring press reports — each one sourced — for any MG built from 2012, by registration or by model.
Check any MG for common problems →Before you view a used MG, two more free checks are worth a minute. Run a free MOT check to see every test result, advisory and recorded mileage on the DVSA record. And it is worth a minute to check a car's spec against the advert — engine size, fuel type, colour and year.
How It Works
Three Simple Steps
Enter Your Registration
Type in your vehicle registration number (VRM) — it takes seconds.
We Check Official Records
We query manufacturer dealership databases — the same systems used by franchised dealers.
Receive Your Report In Minutes
Most reports land in your inbox within minutes of payment — full digital service history, ready to download or print.
What You Get
Your Complete Service History Report
Service Dates & Mileage
See every recorded service date and mileage reading from official manufacturer systems.
Work Performed
Details of servicing work carried out at each visit — oil changes, inspections, repairs and more.
Official Dealership Records
Data sourced directly from manufacturer OE systems — the same records franchised dealers use.
Digital Report via Email
Your complete service history report is delivered instantly to your email address as a digital document.
No Charge If We Find Nothing
Your card is authorised at checkout but only charged when we successfully return records. Find nothing? The authorisation is cancelled — no charge ever happens.
Major Brand Coverage
Full dealer records for BMW, Mercedes, Audi, Ford, Toyota, Volkswagen, Porsche, Jaguar, Land Rover and many more — plus partial coverage for many others.
Factory Build Sheet (optional)
Add the exact factory paint name and code, interior trim, gearbox and every option the manufacturer fitted.
Why Service History Matters
Protect Your Investment
Missing service history is one of the biggest value killers when buying or selling a used vehicle. Don't leave money on the table.
Value lost without service history
More value with full service history
Of buyers won't buy without service history
If no records are found
MG Service History FAQ
Can I check MG service history online?
Can I check MG service history online?
Why is MG coverage limited?
What about older MG Rover cars like the ZR, ZS or TF?
Is a check still worth running on an MG?
Will I be refunded if no MG records are found?
Learn More About Service History
What Counts as Full Service History?
The UK definition of FSH, dealer vs independent records, and how gaps affect value.
Read guide →Service History Check vs HPI Check
Different checks for different purposes — what each one covers and when you need both.
Read guide →How to Check Service History Online
How online checks retrieve manufacturer dealer records and what the results show.
Read guide →Check MG service history
Retrieve official MG dealership service records using just a registration number. Results typically arrive within minutes.
Run a Service History Check — £9.99No charge unless we find records
See What Your Report Looks Like
View a sample report to understand exactly what data you'll receive.
View Sample Report