MG oil and fluids

What oil does an MG take?

The oil each MG engine is approved for and how much an oil and filter change takes, for 14 engines — from MG's own handbooks where they are published, each with its source. Look your car up by registration for the exact engine, or find it in the list below.

Free · no signup · make, engine and year from the official DVLA record

By engine

1.0T GDI (G10DT, three-cylinder) · 2017–2022

Engine oil
C3 · 5W-30(2017–2019 · ZS 1.0T (MY17 handbook))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
MY17 ZS handbook lists 'C3 5W-30 or C5 0W-20' for the 1.0T-AT.
Engine oil
C5 · 0W-20(2017–2019 · ZS 1.0T (MY17 handbook))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Alternative to C3 5W-30 in the same row.
Engine oil
C5 · 0W-20(2020–2022 · ZS 1.0T 6MT / 6AT (facelift handbook))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Facelift handbook lists C5 0W-20 only.
Oil capacity
4 litres
Manufacturer-publishedSource
'Engine oil (after-sales replacement)' 4.0 L (MY17) / 4 L (facelift, 6MT and 6AT); filter inclusion not stated.
Coolant
Glycol (OAT)(5.8 litres)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
ZS 1.0T
Brake fluid
DOT 4
Manufacturer-publishedSource
MG3 MY16 handbook specifies 'DOT 4 (Low Viscosity)'; all later handbooks say DOT 4.

Fitted to: ZS

1.5 GDI (GS62 family) · 2024–2026

Engine oil
C5 · API SP · 0W-20(2024 on · MG3 1.5 petrol (MT/CVT), ZS 1.5 petrol (MT/CVT))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbooks: 'use 0W-20 engine oil recommended by SAIC Motor that complies with ACEA C5 and API SP specifications'. Fluids table grade 'C5&SP 0W-20'. The MG3 handbook's coolant row names the non-hybrid engine 'GS64'.
Oil capacity
4 litres
Manufacturer-publishedSource
'Engine oil (after-sales replacement), L ... 4' — one figure for every engine in the MG3 and ZS tables; filter inclusion not stated.
Coolant
Glycol (OAT)(6.2 litres)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
MG3/ZS 1.5L MT & CVT
Brake fluid
DOT 4
Manufacturer-publishedSource
MG3 MY16 handbook specifies 'DOT 4 (Low Viscosity)'; all later handbooks say DOT 4.

Fitted to: MG3, ZS

1.5 Hybrid+ (GS62H, Atkinson cycle) · 2024–2026

Engine oil
C5 · API SP · 0W-20(2024 on · MG3 Hybrid+, ZS Hybrid+)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
'use 0W-20 engine oil recommended by SAIC Motor that complies with ACEA C5 and API SP specifications'.
Oil capacity
4 litres
Manufacturer-publishedSource
'Engine oil (after-sales replacement), L ... 4'; filter inclusion not stated.
Coolant
Glycol (OAT)(6.4 litres)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Engine coolant 6.4 L (GS62H); drive-motor coolant 3.4 L
Brake fluid
DOT 4
Manufacturer-publishedSource
MG3 MY16 handbook specifies 'DOT 4 (Low Viscosity)'; all later handbooks say DOT 4.

Fitted to: MG3 Hybrid+, ZS Hybrid+

1.5 VTi-TECH (15S4C) · 2017–2024

Engine oil
A5/B5 · 5W-30(2017–2019 · ZS 1.5 (pre-facelift, MY17 handbook))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
MY17 ZS handbook lists 'A5/B5 5W-30 or C5 0W-20' for the 1.5L-MT.
Engine oil
C5 · 0W-20(2017–2019 · ZS 1.5 (pre-facelift, MY17 handbook))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Alternative to A5/B5 5W-30 in the same MY17 handbook row.
Engine oil
C5 · 0W-20(2020–2024 · ZS 1.5 (facelift handbook))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Facelift ZS handbook lists C5 0W-20 only. Year split follows the handbook editions, not a dated MG change notice.
Oil capacity
4.1 litres(ZS 1.5 MT)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook row is 'Engine oil (after-sales replacement)' — the service refill — but it does not say whether the filter is included. Same 4.1 L in MY17 and facelift handbooks.
Coolant
Glycol (OAT)(5.4 litres)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
ZS 1.5 MT
Brake fluid
DOT 4
Manufacturer-publishedSource
MG3 MY16 handbook specifies 'DOT 4 (Low Viscosity)'; all later handbooks say DOT 4.

Fitted to: MG3, ZS

1.5 VTi-TECH (15S4U) · 2013–2018

Engine oil
A1/B1 · 5W-20(2016–2018 · MG3 (MY16 handbook))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Handbook: 'Use engine oil meeting ACEA specification A1/B1'. Fluids table: 'A1/B1 5W-20'. Earlier 2013-2015 MG3 handbook not found; same engine but not verified.
Oil capacity
4.5 litres
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Table says 'Engine oil, l ... 4.5' with no filter/refill qualifier.
Coolant
Glycol (OAT)(4.9 litres)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Of which 0.7 L in the expansion tank
Brake fluid
DOT 4 (Low Viscosity)
Manufacturer-publishedSource

Fitted to: MG3

1.5T (15FDE / GS61, second generation) · 2024–2026

Engine oil
C5 · API SP · 0W-20(2024 on · HS 1.5T DCT and MT (second generation))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
'use 0W-20 engine oil recommended by SAIC Motor that complies with ACEA C5 and API SP specifications'.
Oil capacity
4 litres
Manufacturer-publishedSource
'Engine oil (after-sales replacement), L' 4 for 1.5T-DCT and 1.5T-MT; filter inclusion not stated.
Coolant
Glycol (OAT)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Engine coolant 7.3 L (DCT) / 6.6 L (MT), plus 3 L water-cooled intercooler circuit
Brake fluid
DOT 4
Manufacturer-publishedSource
MG3 MY16 handbook specifies 'DOT 4 (Low Viscosity)'; all later handbooks say DOT 4.

Fitted to: HS

1.5T GDI (15E4E, first generation) · 2016–2024

Engine oil
C5 · 0W-20(2018–2024 · HS 1.5T (6MT and DCT))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
First-generation HS handbook fluids table: 'C5 0W-20'.
Engine oil
C3 · 5W-30(2016–2019 · GS 1.5T only)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
GS handbook: 'please use ACEA C3 engine oil or that recommended by the manufacturer'; fluids table grade 'C3 5W-30'; 'in areas of extreme cold, we advise you to use oil of a SAE 0W-30 viscosity'. Differs from the HS — do not apply to HS.
Oil capacity
4 litres(HS)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
'Engine lubricating oil (after-sales replacement), L ... 4' for 6MT and DCT; filter inclusion not stated.
Total oil capacity
5.5 litres(GS)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
GS table: 'Engine oil (initial assembly) 5.5 l' (in totalLitres) and 'Engine oil (after-sales replacement) 5.0 l' (in unspecifiedLitres — filter inclusion not stated).
Coolant
Glycol (OAT)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
HS 5.8 L; GS 7.1 L
Brake fluid
DOT 4
Manufacturer-publishedSource
MG3 MY16 handbook specifies 'DOT 4 (Low Viscosity)'; all later handbooks say DOT 4.

Fitted to: HS, GS

1.5T Plug-in Hybrid (15E4E + EDU, first generation) · 2020–2024

Engine oil
C5 · 0W-20(2020–2024 · HS Plug-in Hybrid (first generation))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Fluids table: 'C5 0W-20'. EHS (the same car in other markets) not separately checked.
Oil capacity
4 litres
Manufacturer-publishedSource
'Engine lubricating oil (after-sales replacement), L ... 4'; filter inclusion not stated.
Coolant
Glycol (OAT)(5 litres)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Engine 5 L; electric-drive transmission 2.4 L; high-voltage battery 4.4 L
Brake fluid
DOT 4
Manufacturer-publishedSource
MG3 MY16 handbook specifies 'DOT 4 (Low Viscosity)'; all later handbooks say DOT 4.

Fitted to: HS Plug-in Hybrid, EHS

1.5T Plug-in Hybrid (GS61H, second generation) · 2024–2026

Engine oil
C5 · API SP · 0W-20(2024 on · HS Plug-in Hybrid (second generation))
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Same ACEA C5 / API SP 0W-20 instruction as the rest of the HS range handbook.
Oil capacity
4 litres
Manufacturer-publishedSource
1.5T-PHEV column: 4; filter inclusion not stated.
Coolant
Glycol (OAT)(7.6 litres)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
Engine 7.6 L; drive-motor control module 7.2 L
Brake fluid
DOT 4
Manufacturer-publishedSource
MG3 MY16 handbook specifies 'DOT 4 (Low Viscosity)'; all later handbooks say DOT 4.

Fitted to: HS Plug-in Hybrid

MG Cyberster (electric) · 2024–2026

Electric — no engine oil to change.

Coolant
Glycol (OAT)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
EV — no engine oil. High-voltage battery pack coolant 4 L; electric drive unit coolant 4.8 L (2WD 64 kWh and 77 kWh). Dual-motor not in the table read.
Brake fluid
DOT 4
Manufacturer-publishedSource
0.8 L

Fitted to: Cyberster

MG ZS EV (electric) · 2019–2025

Electric — no engine oil to change.

Coolant
Glycol (OAT)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
EV — no engine oil. MY19: power electronics/drive motor coolant 4.8 L, high-voltage battery 4.4 L. Facelift: electric drive transmission coolant 4.8 L, high-voltage battery 5.6 L.
Brake fluid
DOT 4
Manufacturer-publishedSource
0.75 L (MY19) / 0.85 L (facelift)

Fitted to: ZS EV

MG4 EV (electric) · 2022–2026

Electric — no engine oil to change.

Coolant
Glycol (OAT)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
EV — no engine oil. 2022 handbook: high-voltage battery pack coolant 4.0 L, electric drive transmission coolant 5.6 L. 2026 handbook: battery 4.0 L; drive coolant 5.6 L (2WD) / 6.4 L (4WD). MG4 EV Urban handbook also says Glycol (OAT) but its capacity table did not extract cleanly.
Brake fluid
DOT 4
Manufacturer-publishedSource
0.8 L

Fitted to: MG4 EV, MG4 EV XPOWER, MG4 EV Urban

MG5 EV (electric) · 2020–2025

Electric — no engine oil to change.

Coolant
Glycol (OAT)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
EV — no engine oil. Long Range handbook: battery coolant 4.4 L (pack type 1) / 4.8 L (type 2); drive transmission coolant 4.2 / 4 L. 2022-12 handbook: battery 4.8 L, drive 4 L.
Brake fluid
DOT 4
Manufacturer-publishedSource
0.8 L

Fitted to: MG5 EV

MGS5 EV (electric) · 2025–2026

Electric — no engine oil to change.

Coolant
Glycol (OAT)
Manufacturer-publishedSource
EV — no engine oil. High-voltage battery pack coolant 4.2 L; electric drive unit coolant 5.8 L.
Brake fluid
DOT 4
Manufacturer-publishedSource
0.8 L

Fitted to: MGS5 EV

Manufacturer-published figures link to the maker's document. "Reported" figures come from a franchised dealer or a parts catalogue and have not been confirmed by the maker. Nothing here has been checked against your car — confirm with the handbook or a franchised dealer quoting the VIN.

Common questions

What oil does an MG take?

It depends on the engine. Across the 14 MG engines we hold, the approvals named are C3, C5, A5/B5, A1/B1, mostly in 0W-20, 5W-30, 5W-20. Find your engine above, or enter your registration for the exact match.

How much oil does an MG take?

It depends on the engine; the figures we hold are listed above with their sources. The owner's handbook gives the oil-change capacity.

Where is the oil specification in an MG handbook?

Usually in the "Technical data", "Capacities and specifications" or "Engine oil" section near the back, which names the approval code and viscosity, and the oil-change capacity with filter. The figures above link to the handbooks we found them in.

Oil specification and capacity by make